Spinach Salad with Pistachio Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
They say actions (or pictures) speak louder than words, so I invite you to take a peek at my submitted photo of this salad because it shows how much I enjoyed this salad far more accurately than any words could express. On the rare occasions Hubs goes out of town on a business trip without me I look for a dinner to prepare for myself that is easily scaled to one serving, so main dish salads seem to work perfectly for me. I sure do find some good ones, including this particular salad. I made the salad itself just as written, no changes, no substitutions – the ingredients were all good choices that blended well together and I especially liked the addition of the avocado, which was SO delicious with the pistachio coated chicken. But I did make some changes to how I prepared the chicken. I couldn’t see the pistachios sticking very well to the chicken breast as the recipe was written so I first soaked the chicken in buttermilk, then coated it in a mixture of the finely chopped pistachios and panko bread crumbs. Just as I suspected, the mixture coated the chicken thoroughly. As for the dressing, I used some vinaigrette I had leftover from another recipe I tried recently, and it couldn’t have been a better choice for this salad. I’m not typically a fan of “cold and crunchy” dinners but this one was a real winner with me that I’d happily make again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was an excellent salad! Very filling and hearty :) I made it with baby spinach, cucumber, tomatoes, red peppers, avocado and made my own balsamic vinaigrette (3/4 extra virgin olive oil, 3/4 balsamic vinegar, 1/2 tsp oregano, 1-2 tsp mustard, 1 clove garlic, dash of salt and pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Easy and Delicious!!!! The green onions are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
One of the best salads I've ever had! I have made it two times first time followed recipe exactly second time I flollowed other reviwers suggestions of adding bread crumbs to the pistachios and I liked it more when using only pistachios...I also soaked the chicken in buttermilk to tenderize it and to help pistachios stick better to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I'm giving this 4 stars because while the salad was really good, I don't think the pistachio chicken lent a ton of flavor. The pistachios seemed to get lost and burnt a little. I even pounded my chicken out thin before cooking. I like someone elses idea of simply toasting the pistachios and sprinkling them on the salad separately. I made my own balsamic dressing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Good choice of ingredients make this salad great. The only reason I gave this three instead of five stars is the expense of the ingredients and the fact that my grocery store doesn't carry shelled pistachios. With the expense and amount of work, I am not sure this recipe is a repeater for us. I also don't see much flavor/texture gained by coating the chicken (a more labor intensive approach) vs. just toasting and sprinkling with nuts afterwards. Also, if you don't flatten the chicken and/or fillet it, you'll burn the pistachios before the chicken is even close to done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Really good! and pretty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Five + 1 * !! Incredible salad! I found the crushed pistachios adhered extremely well to the chicken. This meal was just what one needs in a pinch for something that can be put together rather quickly. We all enjoyed this very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christine
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was as beautiful as it was delicious! I am always on the look out for a main meal salads and am glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Loved this salad! I left out the bell pepper because we don't like it, and I made my own vinaigrette, but didn't change anything else. Very good, simple to make and quite filling. Will definitely be on our summer rotation. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States