Spinach Salad with Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Incredible! I've never raw liked mushrooms in salad but had to use some up - so I gave this a try and I've made it 4 times already. Simple, quick, and absolutely delicious! I used bacon bits and a fresh orange cut in pieces instead of the mandarin oranges (didn't have any). I also cut way back on the dressing to keep calories lower - 1/2 tablespoon each of the vegetable oil, apple cider vinegar, ketchup, and onion powder along with a teaspoon of worchestershire sauce seem to do it just fine for my half-recipe when tossed well. Skipped the sugar and the salt, it tasted great anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was pretty good, but not fabulous. The dressing was better than I thought it would be, but the inredients remained strangely uncombined. Maybe some taosted nuts would improve the taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Excellent salad! I didn't have mushrooms and I sliced purple onion instead of the chopped onion in the dressing. Was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This was served to a group of teenagers and they ALL were surprized and ate it all up!! I used fresh orange segments and cut back on the sugar just a little. Don't be afraid to substitute raisins for the cranberries if that's what's in your cubboard, or pecans for walnuts or even chopped up macadamia nuts. A very effective way to get raw veggies into children too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I liked it except it tasted too oniony. I think 2 tablespoon chopped onion is a bit too much. i will make it next time without any onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is a wonderful salad! Easy to make and the dressing is absolutely delicious! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Everyone we've made this salad for loves it - guests, people that don't usually eat salad, even my kids. And I love telling people the secret ingredient is the ketchup. I subtitute shallots for onions and that works great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I think this salad is amazing! The only things I did different were to add some of the bacon drippings and some of the syrup from the mandarin oranges to the dressing, it really brought out the bacon flavor! Deeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Salad is really wonderfull there is no doubt, appearance is nice, taste is good but if we add some Fresh Mozzarella cheese that will make owesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANESH

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is a really nice salad and dressing. The salad dressing is sweet and tastes very similar to Kraft's Catalina bottled dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States