Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I used green onions, no veggie oil, no peas or mushrooms. I added hard boiled eggs to the spinach. Everyone loved it. The recipe Makes about six hearty servings. The sugar could be adjusted downward perhaps. Really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
excellent, will use less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Gawd, I loved this Chef John! I've made hot bacon dressing for years, but yours is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is clearly the best hot dressing recipe there is. My spinach salad consisted of spinach, hard boiled eggs, tomatoes, cucs, carrots, shredded cheddar and restraint style croutons. My husband doesn't care for hot dressing and gobbled it up, looking for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Loved this recipe. I added hard-boiled eggs instead of black-eyed peas. This was wonderful. You can't go wrong with Chef John's recipes. I love just about everything he makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was my first foray into warm bacon dressing! So good! I don't even care for black-eyed peas but they were great in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
watch the video! I wanted to skip the oil until watched the video, cut bacon with kitchen shears. added 2 hard boiled eggs because I like eggs in my spinach salad. other than that followed recipe. make sure you have all your chopping and measuring done ahead. awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie McLeod Boord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
We originally had this at a high end restaurant. This seems like the same thing with one exception. They added thin slices of hard boiled egg to the salad. Highly recommend you try it with the egg. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I did not cook the onion and used a sweet Vidalia onion - perfect dressing - tastes like the one my grandmother made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was truly amazing. Everyone at the table raved and I was sending them home with the recipe. Even small, picky children will eat their spinach if you make this one. It's often the simple recipes that are the best and this is definitely one I'll make often. Thanks, Chef John! Thanks for the video too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States