Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I used green onions, no veggie oil, no peas or mushrooms. I added hard boiled eggs to the spinach. Everyone loved it. The recipe Makes about six hearty servings. The sugar could be adjusted downward perhaps. Really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Gawd, I loved this Chef John! I've made hot bacon dressing for years, but yours is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
excellent, will use less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Loved this recipe. I added hard-boiled eggs instead of black-eyed peas. This was wonderful. You can't go wrong with Chef John's recipes. I love just about everything he makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is clearly the best hot dressing recipe there is. My spinach salad consisted of spinach, hard boiled eggs, tomatoes, cucs, carrots, shredded cheddar and restraint style croutons. My husband doesn't care for hot dressing and gobbled it up, looking for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was my first foray into warm bacon dressing! So good! I don't even care for black-eyed peas but they were great in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
watch the video! I wanted to skip the oil until watched the video, cut bacon with kitchen shears. added 2 hard boiled eggs because I like eggs in my spinach salad. other than that followed recipe. make sure you have all your chopping and measuring done ahead. awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie McLeod Boord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I substituted red wine vinager for the rice, and left off the sugar (dietary restriction) but divine and satisfying meal. Would be nice for a small dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Horn
Home Town: Saint James City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
We originally had this at a high end restaurant. This seems like the same thing with one exception. They added thin slices of hard boiled egg to the salad. Highly recommend you try it with the egg. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was very good and felt special, like something you would normally get in a high-end steak restaurant. I made a few omissions, but otherwise followed the recipe. I didn't cook the bacon in extra oil. I just let it fry up naturally and kept the bacon rendering for the dressing. I thought the dressing was a little on the sweet side, so will cut back on the sugar next time. For the salad, I omitted the black eyed peas and tomatoes (DH and the kids don't like them). Next time, I think I might add some sliced red onion and hard-boiled egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States