Spinach Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
nice flavor and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmajors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was the first time I ever made a spinach salad (it's not something I like), but my husband and mother-in-law gave it rave reviews. In fact, my husband ONLY ate the spinach salad for dinner that night...usually I can't get him to eat ANY salad with his meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
It's a shame that such a magnificent salad has such a plain Jane name. "Spinach Salad II" just doesn't do it justice! I was tempted to dock it a star just for calling for vegetable oil in the dressing (I used olive oil) but all the positives more than outweighed this one little negative. Beautiful, fresh, perfect blend of flavors and colors, and extremely good for you too! Other than using olive oil rather than vegetable oil, and thinly sliced red onion for the chopped onions called for, I made no other changes or additions. Why mess with perfection? Loved, loved, loved the dressing - so light and fresh tasting! Rather than tossing the salad I made individual servings on salad plates, topping each bed of spinach with the remaining ingredients. This made for a beautiful presentation. Thanks for sharing this keeper recipe Dee J - we cleaned our plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I have served this now on several holidays as well as having it as a stand alone dinner with bread or soup. I double the dressing and add fresh mushrooms and use Bacos instead of bacon for the vegetarians. It is better than restaurant spinach salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
With minor alterations this deserves 5 stars. I subbed olive oil for veggie oil for health sake...cut back on onion so it wouldn't overpower and added 1 T. white wine vinegar to give the dressing a little zip. This made the recipe perfect for us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
we loved this! after reading other reviews i added red win vinegar,evoo instead of vegetable oil and some dijon mustard. also added red onion,mushrooms and tomato. it was so good we had it again the next day!! will make this at least once a week!! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Quick, simple and delish. I did add some lemon zest since it's there as part of the lemon and I hate to throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caren
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Got lots of compliments!! Added mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I thought that this was just o.k. I tried adding some red wine vinegar as others suggested and it was still just o.k.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KFELSMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
My husband now likes spinach because of this salad. The only thing I changed was to use EVOO instead of regular oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States