Spinach Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This was absolutely scumptious!!! I made a couple of changes, however. I used brown rice and used more rice than the recipe called for. I did not use jalepenos because I didn't have any. I added some garlic as another reviewer suggested, and also 1/4 tsp white pepper for a little kick. I also added about half a cup of jullienned carrots, which I sauteed with the onions. They were delicious! I topped it with bread crumbs, too. And I actually omitted the cheese entirely, but the good news is I didn't miss it AT ALL - if you're trying to cut back on calories, don't be afraid to leave out the cheese! It's the kind of recipe you can really play with to suit your tastes - wonderful, I will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tapring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly only substituting real shredded cheddar for the processed cheese. I also covered the top in shredded cheese. Wow! we loved it. I am sure this dish could also be made without the hot peppers and still be delicious for those who don't like their food with a kick. Thanks for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I thought this was an excellent dish. I did not have the peppers so I added a little garlic, however, I did feel that it would have been better with some kind of topping on it...maybe some buttered bread crumbs. I will make it again. Everyone in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This dish was amazing! I'm not a big spinach fan, but I absolutely loved this! I used fresh spinach sauteed with garlic & olive oil and cream of mushroom soup. i have made it a few times now and everyone raves about it. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4fun6963

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Until I learn how to edit my own recipes I will write a review. I usually use 1 cup of uncooked rice. If I don't have fresh jalapeno, I add jar jalapeno to my liking. More milk may be added. I am a "taste as you go" cook, so it's hard to get the measurements right. Hope you all enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This was very good, Creamy and it had a lot of flavor. I used cream of mushroom soup, since I didn't have the cream of chicken on hand. I also added about a cup of cooked lentles left over from dinner the night before. It gave the rice a nice richness with the spinach. Even my husband liked it and he doesn't care for spinach much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Delicious! I used creole seasoning instead of jalepeno peppers. Tasty, cheesy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I am a cook at a assisted living facility and I made this scaled to fit for 48 people. They loved it and so did the staff. I used chicken gravy since i was out of soup and it turned out great!! What a great recipe.It is definetly going on the menu! Thanks,J:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was awesome! Super creamy and flavorful. I made quite a few changes, based on what I had in the kitchen. Subbed cream of mushroom soup for the cream of chicken. Subbed brown rice for the white- followed the cooking recipe on the bag, and used a full cup of uncooked rice. I had fresh spinach that needed to be used, so I chopped it and added it to the onions until it wilted. I used about 6 cups of fresh spinach instead of the frozen. I also used a shredded combo of cheddar/jack instead of the processed cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Delicious! I used chicken broth instead of water. Instead of cubing the cheese I cut it in thin slices and put half the spinach mixture in the dish, then layered it with the cheese and then topped it with more mixture ( this method gives it a more gooey cheese taste and looks nice). I also took the advice form another reviewer and added carrots, topped with bread crumbs and additional cheese. Turned out great and everyone really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sandefjord, Vestfold, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States