Spinach Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This was amazing! I tweaked it a little to suit.... I used 100gms of rice and cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. I used about 2 teaspoons of finely chopped pickled jalepenos and added 4 sliced mushrooms, 2 crushed garlic cloves and a dash of cayenne. For the cheese I mixed in grated mozerrella and then put a thin layer of mozzarella over the top, which came out nicely browned. I served it with lemon wedges and my partner and I loved it! I may try it with some crumbled feta added next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Loved this! The flavor was amazing, enough said. Next time I'll use less jalapenos for those in the family who can't handle the spicy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This recipe was a hit in my house. I used canned jalapenos and tend to have a heavy hand with anything spicy but everyone ranted and raved. I followed the recipe for the most part and only modified a few things. I did add a can of quartered artichokes that I diced and tossed in. I also just used shredded cheddar but thought it would be a nice addition to put shredded parmesan in as well. I only did a small amount of the parmesan in the mix, but did spread a good amount on top of the dish right before baking! It came out so wonderful and I can't wait to make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Rembac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Until I learn how to edit my own recipes I will write a review. I usually use 1 cup of uncooked rice. If I don't have fresh jalapeno, I add jar jalapeno to my liking. More milk may be added. I am a "taste as you go" cook, so it's hard to get the measurements right. Hope you all enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
We really liked this recipe. The end result was very good but I changed some ingredients to fit what I had in the pantry. I used basmati rice I recommend this over plain white, then I doubled the rice amount because it just wasn't enough for my family, I also doubled the milk but still used one can of soup. I added mushrooms , garlic and some green onion that I sauteed. I used regular cheddar cheese instead of processed. It was scrumptious! I will make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Bonhoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I doubled the rice, water, and milk amounts....didn't have jalapeno so I added about 1/4 tsp red pepper and used 1/8 tsp of of black pepper. also put on some french friend onions on top for the last few minutes of baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was ok. It wasn't as tasty as I thought it was going to be, but it was a nice healthy side dish for the chicken we made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Except for omitting the jalapeno peppers, adding 2 small cloves of garlic, and a bit of milk before baking (because I mixed it the day before and much of the liquid had been absorbed) I prepared this for a Thanksgiving get together. Some people thought it was a casserole...Others thought it was a dip. Everyone loved it. Received several requests for the recipe. ELI3LEG thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I made this for Sunday lunch and everyone loved it. I had to put another recipe in the oven during dinner so we could have seconds! I left out the cheese product and it had great consistency.This will have a place on our table for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I made this recipe, but used about 3 cups cooked rice (Zatarain's), 3/4th's of a bag (9 oz.) of fresh spinach, 1/2 small green pepper (don't like jalapenos and didn't have any green chilies), and added 1/2 cup julienned carrots and used garlic powder. I cooked the carrots and green pepper with the onions and spinach separately. I sprinkled the top with cheese instead of adding it to the mix. It was delicious. This recipe is so versatile. A real keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psweston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States