Spinach Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This is good! I omitted jalapeno's as I don't like them and used 1 cup brown rice (cooked in 2 cups water for about 30 minutes before adding to everything else). I had about 9 oz of fresh spinach that I pureed in my Vitamix and mixed it into the rice mixture and used shredded cheddar instead of cubed cheese. I really like this and think it's a great way to get in some extra veggies to my families diet! I would omit the salt next time, with the cheese and soup it really isn't needed and tastes a little salty to me. Since I used brown rice it wasn't fully cooked even after the baking time, so next time I'd just make sure my rice was fully cooked before mixing together and baking. :) My son who "hates" spinach said it's "awesome". Yay! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
a good side dish, i left out the jalapenos and subbed cream of chicken for mushroom. doubled the recipe. taste was okay, but it was quick which is what i needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I tripled the rice(used 1c. rice and 2c. water) I omitted the jalapenos and added a little chili powder to it. The second time I made it I added some shredded carrots to it to add some color. Next time I make it I'm gonna use the taco flavor shredded cheese(I use the whole 8oz. pkg) I brought some in to this lady I work with and she loved it. She is like my guinea pig and samples all the recipes that I try out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This dish was amazing! I'm not a big spinach fan, but I absolutely loved this! I used fresh spinach sauteed with garlic & olive oil and cream of mushroom soup. i have made it a few times now and everyone raves about it. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4fun6963

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cowboy Mark
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly, except I used about 4 cups of fresh spinach and topped the baked dish with Mexican Cojita white cheese crumbles. The one thing that I would change is that I would cut way back on the salt, or leave it out altogether. Otherwise it was a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboy Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Quick, easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was very good. Made this last night, and my husband cleaned his plate. Made w/fresh spinach and mushrooms as well as cream of mushroom soup and wild rice medley. Wilted the spinach while I sauteed the mushrooms and onions. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakemyday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Wow, this is great! I made a couple changes to accomodate for the ingredients I had on hand. I used cream of celery soup, used green bell pepper and hot red pepper flakes instead of jalapeno's and a tablespoon of cream cheese instead of the processed cheese. Very flavourful and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was awesome! Super creamy and flavorful. I made quite a few changes, based on what I had in the kitchen. Subbed cream of mushroom soup for the cream of chicken. Subbed brown rice for the white- followed the cooking recipe on the bag, and used a full cup of uncooked rice. I had fresh spinach that needed to be used, so I chopped it and added it to the onions until it wilted. I used about 6 cups of fresh spinach instead of the frozen. I also used a shredded combo of cheddar/jack instead of the processed cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This recipe is so great! I made a few changes- skipping the onion sautéing and just addinginced onions with rice. I mixed everything right in the baking dish as well. I doubled it and jut used a 16 oz bag of spinach. I also used cheddar instead of velveeta, as we prefer the cheddar. Very creamy and delicious- my spinach hating husband even approved! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States