Spinach Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This was absolutely scumptious!!! I made a couple of changes, however. I used brown rice and used more rice than the recipe called for. I did not use jalepenos because I didn't have any. I added some garlic as another reviewer suggested, and also 1/4 tsp white pepper for a little kick. I also added about half a cup of jullienned carrots, which I sauteed with the onions. They were delicious! I topped it with bread crumbs, too. And I actually omitted the cheese entirely, but the good news is I didn't miss it AT ALL - if you're trying to cut back on calories, don't be afraid to leave out the cheese! It's the kind of recipe you can really play with to suit your tastes - wonderful, I will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tapring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly only substituting real shredded cheddar for the processed cheese. I also covered the top in shredded cheese. Wow! we loved it. I am sure this dish could also be made without the hot peppers and still be delicious for those who don't like their food with a kick. Thanks for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I thought this was an excellent dish. I did not have the peppers so I added a little garlic, however, I did feel that it would have been better with some kind of topping on it...maybe some buttered bread crumbs. I will make it again. Everyone in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This dish was amazing! I'm not a big spinach fan, but I absolutely loved this! I used fresh spinach sauteed with garlic & olive oil and cream of mushroom soup. i have made it a few times now and everyone raves about it. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4fun6963

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Until I learn how to edit my own recipes I will write a review. I usually use 1 cup of uncooked rice. If I don't have fresh jalapeno, I add jar jalapeno to my liking. More milk may be added. I am a "taste as you go" cook, so it's hard to get the measurements right. Hope you all enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This was very good, Creamy and it had a lot of flavor. I used cream of mushroom soup, since I didn't have the cream of chicken on hand. I also added about a cup of cooked lentles left over from dinner the night before. It gave the rice a nice richness with the spinach. Even my husband liked it and he doesn't care for spinach much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Delicious! I used creole seasoning instead of jalepeno peppers. Tasty, cheesy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I am a cook at a assisted living facility and I made this scaled to fit for 48 people. They loved it and so did the staff. I used chicken gravy since i was out of soup and it turned out great!! What a great recipe.It is definetly going on the menu! Thanks,J:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was awesome! Super creamy and flavorful. I made quite a few changes, based on what I had in the kitchen. Subbed cream of mushroom soup for the cream of chicken. Subbed brown rice for the white- followed the cooking recipe on the bag, and used a full cup of uncooked rice. I had fresh spinach that needed to be used, so I chopped it and added it to the onions until it wilted. I used about 6 cups of fresh spinach instead of the frozen. I also used a shredded combo of cheddar/jack instead of the processed cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Delicious! I used chicken broth instead of water. Instead of cubing the cheese I cut it in thin slices and put half the spinach mixture in the dish, then layered it with the cheese and then topped it with more mixture ( this method gives it a more gooey cheese taste and looks nice). I also took the advice form another reviewer and added carrots, topped with bread crumbs and additional cheese. Turned out great and everyone really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sandefjord, Vestfold, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States