Spinach Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Except for omitting the jalapeno peppers, adding 2 small cloves of garlic, and a bit of milk before baking (because I mixed it the day before and much of the liquid had been absorbed) I prepared this for a Thanksgiving get together. Some people thought it was a casserole...Others thought it was a dip. Everyone loved it. Received several requests for the recipe. ELI3LEG thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I made this for Sunday lunch and everyone loved it. I had to put another recipe in the oven during dinner so we could have seconds! I left out the cheese product and it had great consistency.This will have a place on our table for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I made this recipe, but used about 3 cups cooked rice (Zatarain's), 3/4th's of a bag (9 oz.) of fresh spinach, 1/2 small green pepper (don't like jalapenos and didn't have any green chilies), and added 1/2 cup julienned carrots and used garlic powder. I cooked the carrots and green pepper with the onions and spinach separately. I sprinkled the top with cheese instead of adding it to the mix. It was delicious. This recipe is so versatile. A real keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psweston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I doubled this recipe, but NOT the spinach. It was perfect. I also used Cream of Mushroom soup instead of chicken. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Great & delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Even though I had to use what was available in the kitchen this is a great combo of ingredients and I will have to get the peppers for the next meal. I used fresh spinach, wild rice, cream of mushroom, white onions and gouda cheese. Thanks it went well with the roasted chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Excellent. I used a bunch of fresh spinach rinsed and pulsed in the food processor. I used 1/4 cup mozzarella and baked for 40 minutes. Will make again, often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly only substituting real shredded cheddar for the processed cheese. I also covered the top in shredded cheese. Wow! we loved it. I am sure this dish could also be made without the hot peppers and still be delicious for those who don't like their food with a kick. Thanks for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This was absolutely scumptious!!! I made a couple of changes, however. I used brown rice and used more rice than the recipe called for. I did not use jalepenos because I didn't have any. I added some garlic as another reviewer suggested, and also 1/4 tsp white pepper for a little kick. I also added about half a cup of jullienned carrots, which I sauteed with the onions. They were delicious! I topped it with bread crumbs, too. And I actually omitted the cheese entirely, but the good news is I didn't miss it AT ALL - if you're trying to cut back on calories, don't be afraid to leave out the cheese! It's the kind of recipe you can really play with to suit your tastes - wonderful, I will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tapring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Very, very good. I changed the recipe a bit. I sauteed fresh spinach and onions first. I didn't have any peppers, so I used pepper jack velveta cheese. My 6 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States