Spinach Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This is very good my husband took some to work for lunch and called just to say how good it was,everyone loved this to much. Thanks Terry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
this is very good and cheesy. i'm going to make it again adding zucchini, carrots, and asparagus to make it a bit more of a main dish. i will definately be taking this as a dish to pass for my family's thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I was looking for a quick, easy recipe to use a whole mess of fresh spinach from a neighbor's garden. This recipe did the trick. I probably added more spinach than was called for since I had a lot on hand. I also used brown rice since that's what I have in my pantry. I did not find it bland at all but I don't usually measure salt and pepper when cooking - I just go according to taste. My husband loved it, I was able to whip it up for dinner in no time, I had all the ingredients on hand - a clear winner in my book. I will use this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Yum, this was good. Because of the complaints of blandness, I threw in two cloves of garlic with the onion and used all chicken broth instead of chicken broth and water. I also uncovered the casserole for the last few minutes so the cheese would get browned. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I actually used a 9x13 baking pan and left it uncovered in my oven so the cheese would be browned and there was more surface area for more cheese -- yummers! I cooked it at 375 for just under 20 minutes. I love this recipe, will definitely be making it again. Leaves you satisfied without leaving a mark around your waist...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I thought this recipe was great. I added a little garlic and used more broth than water and it turned out awesome. My 17 month old loves it. She's eating spinach!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I used brown rice & cooked it with 2 cloves of garlic on the stove top for 30 minutes before adding the spinach. I also used all chicken stock instead of using the water. Otherwise I followed the recipe & it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooker K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This is my FAVORITE recipe on the entire site so far!! I have made this more than twice, and each time it is mouthwatering! I don't change much, I just use brown rice instead of white and add marinated chicken breasts on top...YUM. (Although the first couple of times I ended up with crunchy rice because I couldn't figure out how much more water to add to compensate for the brown rice haha.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is what I did: I sauteed 1/4 red onion in some olive oil, and added a clove of minced fresh garlic. I added one bag of Trader Joe's frozen brown rice. Tossed about 1/2 C. of frozen corn into the pan. Added some chopped fresh broccoli and some frozen spinach. Sauteed till just about done. Poured all of that into a sprayed baking dish. Put one layer of cooked chicken on top. Added two shredded carrots on top of mixture. Added 1/3 C. of grated Munster Cheese, and 1/4 C. of Parm. cheese. Then I added a mixture of: 1 can of cream of mushroom soup with 1/2 C. of plain yogurt mixed in. (Next time I wold use Cream of chicken soup mixed with a bit of milk instead of cream of the cream of mushroom/yogurt mixture). I baked it at 375, covered for 25 minutes. Very good, warm, filling dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Hugely successful!! Husband, toddler and myself all loved it! Used basmati rice, 4 cups reduced sodium chicken broth, and added garlic. Very tasty. Doesn't taste great as leftovers the next day though. Next time I'll make just enough for the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States