Spinach Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
this is very good and cheesy. i'm going to make it again adding zucchini, carrots, and asparagus to make it a bit more of a main dish. i will definately be taking this as a dish to pass for my family's thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was rather bland. Reading the ingredients, I kind of expected that it would be but I thought maybe the flavors would magically combine to create something really tasty. Nope. It wasn't terrible, but I ended up putting a lot of hot sauce on top. This is a good base recipe to create a vegetable/rice/cheese casserole but I would definitely suggest dressing it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
My husband enjoyed this. That may sound pedestrian, but trust me, I don't get that often -- usually polite non-commentary. I browned two chicken breasts with the onion and substituted a can of cream of chicken and mushroom soup for part of the water (because of the previous reviewers "bland" comment). The spinach flavor came through quite strongly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Good, light and healthy lunch. Used brown rice, added some shredded carrots, garlic powder, a little mozz cheese and more pepper . Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loriski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgeview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This was quite a nice addition to a weekday evening meal -nothing spectacular, but a quick and easy rice bake that was simple enough that it would be good along a variety of dishes. Everyone liked it and it was another great way to add some spinach to the children's menu. Just enough for my husband to have some for his lunch the next day at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLSELEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enslev, Midtjylland, Denmark
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This was a nice weekday side dish. I added about 1tsp Better Than Bouillon (chicken) due to some reviewers' comments on the blandness of the dish; also mixed in about 1/4c shredded parmesan, in addition to extra parmesan topping which I broiled for a few minutes until it was bubbly and slightly browned. Thanks for the recipe, Mathilda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
It was very good, but I would add a can of Stewed tomatoes the next time, for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I was looking for a quick, easy recipe to use a whole mess of fresh spinach from a neighbor's garden. This recipe did the trick. I probably added more spinach than was called for since I had a lot on hand. I also used brown rice since that's what I have in my pantry. I did not find it bland at all but I don't usually measure salt and pepper when cooking - I just go according to taste. My husband loved it, I was able to whip it up for dinner in no time, I had all the ingredients on hand - a clear winner in my book. I will use this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I thought this was pretty good, but I think the cooking time is too long. I used basmati rice and boiled it for 10 minutes. I added the spinach and covered it, letting it sit for a few minutes for the spinach to wilt enough for me to stir it together, I dont think its necessary to cook it any longer. The I baked it for 10 minutes, removed the cover and turned the broiler on to brown the cheese. I used 2% swiss cheese and it was great! Nice change from plain rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Yum, this was good. Because of the complaints of blandness, I threw in two cloves of garlic with the onion and used all chicken broth instead of chicken broth and water. I also uncovered the casserole for the last few minutes so the cheese would get browned. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States