Spinach Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I used brown rice & cooked it with 2 cloves of garlic on the stove top for 30 minutes before adding the spinach. I also used all chicken stock instead of using the water. Otherwise I followed the recipe & it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooker K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I thought this recipe was great. I added a little garlic and used more broth than water and it turned out awesome. My 17 month old loves it. She's eating spinach!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I actually used a 9x13 baking pan and left it uncovered in my oven so the cheese would be browned and there was more surface area for more cheese -- yummers! I cooked it at 375 for just under 20 minutes. I love this recipe, will definitely be making it again. Leaves you satisfied without leaving a mark around your waist...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I prepared this as written, with the exception of adding the onion. I did add some onion and garlic powder though. I felt like this was very bland, and my rice was pretty mushy. If I make this again, I'll definitely add way more seasonings, and I'll cook the rice according to the package directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I have made his twice, exactly as written and it is a great little side dish. I just wanted to say that I think this dish is just as good even before putting it in the oven. Just take it straight out of the pan onto your plate and sprinkle some cheese on it. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This is very good my husband took some to work for lunch and called just to say how good it was,everyone loved this to much. Thanks Terry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This was very good. I used a box of Near East Rice Pilaf - followed directions on box using half water 1/2 chicken broth I figured that would add more flavor with out too much salt as there is plenty of salt in the spice packet that comes in the rice as well as the parmesan cheese. Also, I added 1 cloved of garlic to the rice while it was cooking. I omitted the salt the recipe called for and I used parmigiano-reggiano. With these changed it wasn't bland at all and pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Yum, this was good. Because of the complaints of blandness, I threw in two cloves of garlic with the onion and used all chicken broth instead of chicken broth and water. I also uncovered the casserole for the last few minutes so the cheese would get browned. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I thought this was pretty good, but I think the cooking time is too long. I used basmati rice and boiled it for 10 minutes. I added the spinach and covered it, letting it sit for a few minutes for the spinach to wilt enough for me to stir it together, I dont think its necessary to cook it any longer. The I baked it for 10 minutes, removed the cover and turned the broiler on to brown the cheese. I used 2% swiss cheese and it was great! Nice change from plain rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I was looking for a quick, easy recipe to use a whole mess of fresh spinach from a neighbor's garden. This recipe did the trick. I probably added more spinach than was called for since I had a lot on hand. I also used brown rice since that's what I have in my pantry. I did not find it bland at all but I don't usually measure salt and pepper when cooking - I just go according to taste. My husband loved it, I was able to whip it up for dinner in no time, I had all the ingredients on hand - a clear winner in my book. I will use this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States