Spinach Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
We all enjoyed this. I used 4 cups chicken broth instead of the half water/half chicken broth and added garlic powder. I used frozen spinach and just thawed it and squeezed out all the excess water. I also used basmati rice. This had loads of flavor!! Will make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Hugely successful!! Husband, toddler and myself all loved it! Used basmati rice, 4 cups reduced sodium chicken broth, and added garlic. Very tasty. Doesn't taste great as leftovers the next day though. Next time I'll make just enough for the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I used jasmine brown rice, and increased the stovetop cooking time to 30 minutes. This came out a little soupy for me and not sure if it is supposed to be that way. It had great flavor though. I added some , garlic, red pepper flakes and oregano. And I did increase the cheese to half cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Yummy! I tried this recipe one night when I had a rice craving and I was not disappointed. The only problem is the cooking time is a bit long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bright, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is what I did: I sauteed 1/4 red onion in some olive oil, and added a clove of minced fresh garlic. I added one bag of Trader Joe's frozen brown rice. Tossed about 1/2 C. of frozen corn into the pan. Added some chopped fresh broccoli and some frozen spinach. Sauteed till just about done. Poured all of that into a sprayed baking dish. Put one layer of cooked chicken on top. Added two shredded carrots on top of mixture. Added 1/3 C. of grated Munster Cheese, and 1/4 C. of Parm. cheese. Then I added a mixture of: 1 can of cream of mushroom soup with 1/2 C. of plain yogurt mixed in. (Next time I wold use Cream of chicken soup mixed with a bit of milk instead of cream of the cream of mushroom/yogurt mixture). I baked it at 375, covered for 25 minutes. Very good, warm, filling dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This is my FAVORITE recipe on the entire site so far!! I have made this more than twice, and each time it is mouthwatering! I don't change much, I just use brown rice instead of white and add marinated chicken breasts on top...YUM. (Although the first couple of times I ended up with crunchy rice because I couldn't figure out how much more water to add to compensate for the brown rice haha.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Needed a little more seasoning. added garlic powder abd seasoned salt. Add whatever seasonings you like- just add some. kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMLKOVE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I added garlic and extra cheese and this still was bland. Maybe cutting back on the rice would help?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I did like some of the other folks and added about 4 cloves of garlic. I also put in a can of drained petit diced tomatoes. Everything else was as written and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This seemed like a great base recipe for a Greek Spinach Rice Casserole I used to make. I made several changes to incorporate the two recipes for ease of cooking, lower the fat and sodium from my original and to perk up the taste a bit. I will create another recipe with my changes. Applause goes to Mathilda for a great base recipe that you can make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States