Spinach, Red Lentil, and Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I am a vegetarian, and I also don't do much dairy, so I am always looking for recipes full of fresh, colorful foods. For this one, I used silken tofu instead of yogurt, added a little lime, and used dry beans (soaked and cooked). I left out the chopped tomatoes. I also thought that there was a little something missing, so I added a bit of cayenne and salt and here was the trick: brown sugar. I am not sure how much I added (around 2 tbsp) so I would just play with it until it tasted good. Another thought, instead of the brown sugar, might be golden raisins. Once I added the brown sugar, it was DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This is a good recipe. I left out the beans as I thought the lentils were enough. I do agree with the other posters that it's a bit bland. That can be fixed by either adding more onions or more spices. The next time I'll double the onions and add some cumin seed to them while frying. Also, many years ago an Indian friend told me that the secret to Indian food is frying the onions until they are a deep, golden brown and THEN adding the garlic and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This recipe was good but could have been a little spicier. It seemed to lose some of its flavor when I added all the lentils. I used frozen spinach, brown lentils, chickpeas, and cherry tomatoes cut in half, which added a nice flavor. Despite the lack of meat, my husband did not complain and complimented me on the dish. Next time I think I will put in more of the spices and roast them in the pan with the onion and oil. That seems to bring out the flavor in Indian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Used fresh tomatoes and some red kidney beans and white navy beans. I kept adding spices as I was cooking this and still find the end result a bit bland. I added more cumin, garam masala, and also some curry powder. If I make this again I might add a jalapeno pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Oh my god, how good is this?! It came together in a jiffy, hardly had any time to taste it and adjust it along the way, then suddenly it was bang, there, so perfect. Even with the changes I had to make (frozen spinach, curry instead of garam masala, no cilantro) it is fabulous. Eating it over rice and with naan bread for lunch the next few days. But I'm going to have to make this again as a dinner for my vegetarian friends. So exciting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Great curry in a hurry! Had to add some extra hotness to suit our tastes, and it made much more than 4 servings. Will add to my recipe box; Thank you. Just a tip for you curry lovers...my Indian friend taught me to toast my whole cumin in a hot pan then grind it in a coffee grinder and save for yummy currys - try it and you will see the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I used chickpeas instead of mixed beans, since that's all I had on hand. I thought that this recipe was good, but missing *something*. Taking the advice of another reviewer, I added some more spice and a spoonful of brown sugar to the leftovers, and that was the key. I think I will make this again, and maybe add some dried cranberries to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was a really good and healthy recipe. I didnt add the oil but it came out fine. I also added some corn into the mix that gave a nice sweetness in the background.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaCh L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe. I used swiss chard instead of spinach and changed the spices just a bit to compensate for what I had on hand - I didn't have turmeric so I used a mild curry powder that contained turmeric and I only had regular chili powder so I added a pinch of cayenne to it. I used pinto beans (2 cups that I had previously cooked from dry beans). I also lightly salted each addition as I added it to the pan. This curry looks so beautiful, smells great and tastes just fabulous! It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
We all enjoyed this recipe very much...even my toddler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States