Spinach, Red Lentil, and Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
A real timesaver. Thanks, you curry-lover, from another curry lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This was really tasty but I felt the sauce was missing something and I couldn't put my finger on it. It definitely needed a bit of salt adding but that could be personal taste. It was so easy to make and healthy too. I'll definitely be making again but will try to figure out what the missing something is. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This was fabulous. I prefer a spicier curry, but my husband lvoed this one. Next time, I will add a bit of cayenne pepper, salt, and cook the lentils a shorter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
i only cooked the lentils for 20 minutes, and used frozen spinach instead. quite good. needed a little salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. My husband made this twice and the first time it was great, the second, not so good. He used a different yogurt the second time(Nancy's), and it didn't end up as creamy. The first time, we used Greek style yogurt (Cascade Fresh), which we noticed had cream in it, as well as milk. I think it made it all blend together much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
sooo excellent!!! Could not be any easier to whip up but the taste is incredible. Nice blend of spices; one not overpowering of the other. I did add more spices but kept them in the same proportions. Used tunisian chili powder in lieu of the ancho. Had masoor dal (split red lentils) so that made the cooking time even quicker!! A definite keeper and nice complimentary side dish to an Indian dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This was a really brilliant, mild curry. I had to cook for thirty people at my workplace and they absolutely loved it. I have been filling requests for the recipe ever since! Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe. I used swiss chard instead of spinach and changed the spices just a bit to compensate for what I had on hand - I didn't have turmeric so I used a mild curry powder that contained turmeric and I only had regular chili powder so I added a pinch of cayenne to it. I used pinto beans (2 cups that I had previously cooked from dry beans). I also lightly salted each addition as I added it to the pan. This curry looks so beautiful, smells great and tastes just fabulous! It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
My daughter really liked this but next time wants it a bit spicier so I will add some cayenne pepper. I used a can of white kidney beans as that's what I had in the cupboard. It was really quick to make and easy too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Great curry in a hurry! Had to add some extra hotness to suit our tastes, and it made much more than 4 servings. Will add to my recipe box; Thank you. Just a tip for you curry lovers...my Indian friend taught me to toast my whole cumin in a hot pan then grind it in a coffee grinder and save for yummy currys - try it and you will see the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States