Spinach, Red Lentil, and Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Very spicy but not enough flavor and not very creamy. More yogurt or more authentic yogurt? maybe would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
EXCELLENT recipe!! I cut down the red lentils to 1/3 cup, and hiked the spinach up to 7 cups (it really cooks down), also did 3 tomatoes instead of 2, and 1 1/2 onions instead of 1. Mushrooms are also an essential addition to this recipe. I used the spices recommended, just more of them, like other reviewers, and also a touch of red curry paste. I topped this with chopped jalapenos and served over basmati rice. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abu
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Perfectly yummy and ingredients are easily substitutable with whatever you have available. Used tomato paste instead of puree, crushed tomatoes instead of chopped and regular chile powder. Also added more spinach and garlic- absolutely delicious! One thing I recommend is starting the skillet as soon as you put on the lentils otherwise they get mushy while waiting around. Picky husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This recipe is near perfect! I have made it 3 times already. The only change I made is I added salt and pepper after I mixed in the lentils. The recipe does not need more of the Indian spices as some other reviewers have said, it simply needs salt to bring those flavors out. Trust me, a little salt and it's perfect! Also, I recommend not skipping the fresh cilantro. That really adds a lot of flavor. This is my new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Very nice curry. Mine ended up a little dry and the lentils still chewy after cooking them for 25 min. So after mixing everything together at the end I added 1 cup of water, another couple handfuls of spinach (because I had so much on hand), covered it and let it cook for about 15 more minutes. I added about 1/2t. sea salt and 1t. red pepper flakes before serving. We added raisins, chopped peanuts and cilantro at the table. Thanks for a recipe I know I'll make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
It's really delicious if you double all the spices and then some, added red chili pepper and salt. As the recipe is, it's bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktr2567

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is very tasty. I added some curry. Makes a great non meat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
After reading the suggestions, I doubled the spices, used both garbanzos and red lentils, added some brown sugar and black mustard seeds. I didn't have cilantro in my pantry...and it is YUMMY! And very fast for a dish that seems like it took a long time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I loved this recipe but did modify it as some of the comments suggested. The more spices the better! I sautéed the spices with the onions and added some extra into the yogurt. I also used eggplant instead of tomatoes and might use more vegetables next time. I added a tablespoon of brown sugar which did help the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Delicious! I left out the beans, and I think it turns out great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States