Spinach, Red Lentil, and Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
For those here who say the recipe was dry or bland, the trick is to reduce the added carbs. I used only about 1/3 c lentils and 1/2 can of garbanzo beans, then served the curry over brown rice, and it was exquisite! The tanginess of the tomatoes together with the yogurt really made it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was my first attempt at curry and I like this a lot. After reading some of the other reviews, I added a lot more of each spice, and i think it came out really well. I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Very spicy but not enough flavor and not very creamy. More yogurt or more authentic yogurt? maybe would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
EXCELLENT recipe!! I cut down the red lentils to 1/3 cup, and hiked the spinach up to 7 cups (it really cooks down), also did 3 tomatoes instead of 2, and 1 1/2 onions instead of 1. Mushrooms are also an essential addition to this recipe. I used the spices recommended, just more of them, like other reviewers, and also a touch of red curry paste. I topped this with chopped jalapenos and served over basmati rice. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abu
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Perfectly yummy and ingredients are easily substitutable with whatever you have available. Used tomato paste instead of puree, crushed tomatoes instead of chopped and regular chile powder. Also added more spinach and garlic- absolutely delicious! One thing I recommend is starting the skillet as soon as you put on the lentils otherwise they get mushy while waiting around. Picky husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This recipe is near perfect! I have made it 3 times already. The only change I made is I added salt and pepper after I mixed in the lentils. The recipe does not need more of the Indian spices as some other reviewers have said, it simply needs salt to bring those flavors out. Trust me, a little salt and it's perfect! Also, I recommend not skipping the fresh cilantro. That really adds a lot of flavor. This is my new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Very nice curry. Mine ended up a little dry and the lentils still chewy after cooking them for 25 min. So after mixing everything together at the end I added 1 cup of water, another couple handfuls of spinach (because I had so much on hand), covered it and let it cook for about 15 more minutes. I added about 1/2t. sea salt and 1t. red pepper flakes before serving. We added raisins, chopped peanuts and cilantro at the table. Thanks for a recipe I know I'll make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
It's really delicious if you double all the spices and then some, added red chili pepper and salt. As the recipe is, it's bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktr2567

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is very tasty. I added some curry. Makes a great non meat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
After reading the suggestions, I doubled the spices, used both garbanzos and red lentils, added some brown sugar and black mustard seeds. I didn't have cilantro in my pantry...and it is YUMMY! And very fast for a dish that seems like it took a long time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States