Spinach Ranch Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
We LOVE this recipe. We make our own bacon bits for it and its wonderful. Add some crusty bread on the side and you're in for an AMAZING meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I didn't care for the broccoli or onion in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This is good but Im like Mermaid-I dont think the Ranch, though one of my favorites is the best for this one. I went with a sweeter pomegranate seasoning. Also, I left out the cumcumbers and added dried cranberries and chopped pecans-I got rave reviews, even from my BROTHERS-so it had to be really good. Tasted like something from a 5 star restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Easy and delicious, plus it was a great way to use up leftover grilled chicken! I subbed cherry tomatoes for the broccoli and added a couple of hard boiled eggs. I also used real bacon vs. bacon bits. This was great with warm rolls for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was pretty good and might have been even better had I remembered to add the bacon I cooked and crumbled and planned to use. I'm not crazy about raw broccoli so I didn't use it, choosing instead to toss in some sliced yellow bell pepper and halved grape tomatoes. I also made my own ranch dressing, a doctored up version of Creamy Buttermilk Dressing (Pam Anderson, USA Weekend) also from this site. This salad, topped with sliced "Parmesan Crusted Chicken," and alongside a bowl of "Broccoli Cheese Soup V," was just what the doctor ordered after heavier holiday meals, snacks and desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Good salad, would probably be even better with the addition of fruit - perhaps chopped apples or dried cranberries. Maybe some slivered almonds, too, or sunflower seeds?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is a very healthy and versatile recipe. I'll occasionally add toasted almonds or some crumbled blue cheese, or omit the bacon or even the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Delicious and spot-hitting. I subbed some leftover homemade Caesar dressing for the ranch, which to us was a better pairing. Thanks for the tip from this column to steam the broc for 15-20 seconds, we appreciated that flavor boost. Also added almonds and cooked up a strip of bacon rather than those awful bits in a bottle. Overall, very glad to have this recipe in my r-box now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Spinach Ranch Salad Haiku: "Surprisingly good! I followed the recipe, and really liked it." I had some leftover shredded chicken, so it wasn't really small chicken pieces mixed in, but otherwise, I used all the same ingredients, and found this to be a nice combinations of flavors. (I dribbled ranch on at serving, b/c I don't like a pre-mixed salad that's swimming in dressing.) I think hunks of tomato would be a nice addition, but still, this was a salad that worked well as a side salad, or in a larger portion, for a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was a great salad. Lots of flavor and a nice variety of textures. II didn't care much for the raw broccoli, so I would leave them out or blanch as another reviewer suggested. I used ranch dressing but next time I will use sweet onion dressing instead. This would have been better with some sesame seeds or toasted nuts of some sort also. Thanks, I had a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States