Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Excellent flavor. Next time I may try low fat cottage and cheddar cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very easy, and adaptable. Following others' advice, I lightly browned both onion and garlic in a bit of butter, first, and since I only had 1/2c of mozz cheese in the entire house (EGADS !), I added 3oz of CREAMED CHEESE to that pan, until it was well melted and combined. I recommend squeezing spinach dry before adding. I just prefer a dry-ish quiche. ALSO, hubby really liked that I topped it with crushed 'French Fried Onions' mixed with some parmesan cheese. VERY YUMMY !! Will probably add some ham or sausage to my next one, but even without it, this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Being a poor college student I don't have an oven and all I had was a skillet. I was hankering for a quiche so I looked at the tons of bags of frozen spinach I still had and decided I could make a pure crustless quiche in that skillet and boy oh boy was it very very tasty. I first sauteed half an onion (NOT AN OPTION FOLKS!) I then used requezon (spanish ricotta) and then some colby and cheddar and some slices of bread (yes bread) and it came out absolutely fabulous! People would call me crazy for not baking quiche but I'll be honest and say that it tastes absolutely wonderful either way. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This turned out awesome! We loved it. I made it exactly as written, except I went ahead and used all of the green onion, not just the white parts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This has been a hit with family and guests at two luncheons. I use 3 green onions (not a bunch) so that the flavor doesn't overpower. I took the advice of another reviewer to mix up the cheese: instead of cottage cheese I use 16 oz of low fat ricotta; for the 2 cups of additional cheese I use smoked gouda, strong cheddar and mozzarella. The gouda not only adds a yummy complexity, it creates a hunger-inducing scent in the kitchen! Finally, instead of croutons, try panko -- very crunchy and you won't miss the crust at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I made this with crushed saltines instead of croutons, and a clove of garlic in place of the green onions(what I had on hand). It was very good- the only thing I'd note about it is that it's not very eggy like I would have expected from a quiche. If you love a really cheesy quiche, though, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made a lot of changes. Truly what I prepared is a cross between this, the recipe for bacon cheese frittata and my own creation. I not only made the changes based on my personal tastes, but also to use up ingredients. I drained the chopped spinach using the fantastic tip provided by another user who advised the use of a potato ricer. Worked great! I heated the spinach in the microwave with about 1 T of butter. I chopped 2 green onions, light portions only, 2 Roma tomatoes, a handful of drained marinated artichoke hearts and 6 peppadews. I cooked 12 slices of bacon, crumbled it and reserved half for the top. Into the bowl with the above ingredients, I also added 2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese, about a cup each of cream cheese and sour cream (I didn't have cottage cheese) and 1 cup heavy cream. Stirred and added salt and pepper to taste. I beat 8 (to finish carton) eggs and then added those. Poured this into my baking dish, which I placed on top of a cookie sheet because I was afraid it would spill. Baked about 30 minutes at 350. Added a mix of more shredded cheddar, crushed Ritz crackers and the reserved bacon to the top. Before returning to the oven, I put tin foil around the edges so it wouldn't overcook. I also lowered the temp to 325 and baked another 10 or so minutes until just done. Let set for about 15 minutes. This was my first quiche/frittatta and not only was it lovely, but it was also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Absolutely loved it and my husband said that it was the best quiche he ever had. I did drain the liquid off of the cottage cheese and the spinach the second time i made it and it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Like this quiche. Somewhat bland, but good. I think I would add some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was a hit at Thanksgiving! I omitted the onions (not a big fan) and forgot the topping. Many of my guests went back for seconds and raved how much they liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States