Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This turned out awesome! We loved it. I made it exactly as written, except I went ahead and used all of the green onion, not just the white parts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This has been a hit with family and guests at two luncheons. I use 3 green onions (not a bunch) so that the flavor doesn't overpower. I took the advice of another reviewer to mix up the cheese: instead of cottage cheese I use 16 oz of low fat ricotta; for the 2 cups of additional cheese I use smoked gouda, strong cheddar and mozzarella. The gouda not only adds a yummy complexity, it creates a hunger-inducing scent in the kitchen! Finally, instead of croutons, try panko -- very crunchy and you won't miss the crust at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I made this with crushed saltines instead of croutons, and a clove of garlic in place of the green onions(what I had on hand). It was very good- the only thing I'd note about it is that it's not very eggy like I would have expected from a quiche. If you love a really cheesy quiche, though, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made a lot of changes. Truly what I prepared is a cross between this, the recipe for bacon cheese frittata and my own creation. I not only made the changes based on my personal tastes, but also to use up ingredients. I drained the chopped spinach using the fantastic tip provided by another user who advised the use of a potato ricer. Worked great! I heated the spinach in the microwave with about 1 T of butter. I chopped 2 green onions, light portions only, 2 Roma tomatoes, a handful of drained marinated artichoke hearts and 6 peppadews. I cooked 12 slices of bacon, crumbled it and reserved half for the top. Into the bowl with the above ingredients, I also added 2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese, about a cup each of cream cheese and sour cream (I didn't have cottage cheese) and 1 cup heavy cream. Stirred and added salt and pepper to taste. I beat 8 (to finish carton) eggs and then added those. Poured this into my baking dish, which I placed on top of a cookie sheet because I was afraid it would spill. Baked about 30 minutes at 350. Added a mix of more shredded cheddar, crushed Ritz crackers and the reserved bacon to the top. Before returning to the oven, I put tin foil around the edges so it wouldn't overcook. I also lowered the temp to 325 and baked another 10 or so minutes until just done. Let set for about 15 minutes. This was my first quiche/frittatta and not only was it lovely, but it was also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Absolutely loved it and my husband said that it was the best quiche he ever had. I did drain the liquid off of the cottage cheese and the spinach the second time i made it and it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Like this quiche. Somewhat bland, but good. I think I would add some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was a hit at Thanksgiving! I omitted the onions (not a big fan) and forgot the topping. Many of my guests went back for seconds and raved how much they liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Good recipe! I made recipe with slight changes (used chive cottage cheese and bread crumbs for topping instead of croutons). I drained the spinach before mixing with the other ingredients and added a little bit of milk because it was a stiff mixture. The cottage cheese flavor blended well with the quiche. It is a pretty easy quiche recipe and I will probably make it again, but perhaps with broccoli or other vegetables for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Fabulous recipe and a nice change from the mozzarella and ricotta spinach quiche recipe I usually prepare. After reading other reviews I decided to saute the green onions and a couple of cloves of garlic and then added the drained spinach and continued to saute. I added the rest of the ingredients with a bit of salt and pepper and baked. I did make a lowfat version though. I used low fat cottage cheese; low fat sharp cheddar, and egg substitutes. It drastically changed the nutritional facts. Calories: 130; Total Fat: 4.3g; Total Carbs: 4.5g; Protein: 18g. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I only slightly changed this. I used 1 cup each of cottage cheese, cheddar and mozzarella. I added some nutmeg (1/2 tsp.) and a few cloves of garlic. Switched out the croutons of a mixture of panko and Parmesan cheese. If I were to make this again I'd add something more to the filling, it was lacking something to make it have a "full" flavour. Also, I'd leave off the topping as it didn't add anything. It tasted good, but it was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States