Spinach Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Will definitely make it again, but with some alterations. I used 1/2 the spinach so it stayed good and cheesy, but I should have cut the breadcrumbs too (way too much). Next time I'm adding garlic and taking out the poultry seasoning (made it taste like stuffing to me). Note: tastes great the day you make it, but loses its appeal the next day as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I followed the advice of a few reviewers (and my own instincts) and made a few changes: I cut the spinach in half and the breadcrumbs in half; I added 2 eggs to make it cuttable; I skipped the dill and poultry seasoning and instead added 1 teaspoon minced garlic; I also substituted 15 ounces of ricotta for the 8 ounces of cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I liked it..but changed it a bit- used mozzarella instead of feta, omitted the dill and poultry seasoning and added four eggs to make it 'cuttable' ...it was delicious! oh, and I used frozen spinach without any problems, I just made sure that I defrosted it and squeezed all of the water out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This is such a flavorful dish, you wouldn't know you were eating spinach! Rather than going to the extra effort of buying or making a pie crust, we just baked it in a shallow casserole dish. The only change I made, was using ricotta cheese rather than cottage. It's a little on the salty side, so, if watching your salt, cut back a bit on the poultry seasoning. I used the left overs the next day in an omlette and it was amazing! Will definately make again and again and again. This may replace the boring green bean casserole at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICK4URBAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
So yummy! Made a few changes- saute'd onions in some olive oil, then threw in the spinach and cooked them for about 3 min's. Then I added feta and instead of cottage cheese, I used a dollop of creme fraiche. I let everything cook together in the pan for a couple of minutes, then placed it in the casserole dish. I omitted the butter and just sprinkled breadcrumbs on top and baked it for about 10 min's. Unbelievably tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslolaramona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
A nice light dish, good with soup. It's kind of like a warm salad. Oh yeah, and note to self: next time don't use frozen spinach....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
Very yummy! Only when I make it, I use about 1/2 of the ammount of bread crumbs the recipe calls for. I prefer to taste the spinach and cheeses most and the crust least. This is a very quick and easy alternative to spanikopita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
mmmm this is so delicious! The only thing I changed was I didn't add the poultry seasoning. It doesn't need it. I also added an egg. It tastes just like spanikopita and it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My Pot Luck
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
First, i shall reduce the amount of the spinach, then followed with add more eggs. here i use 5 med eggs but the spinach i used was almost 2 pounds. Mix 2 kinda cheese; Ricotta & Cottage together. I omit the dill instead of oregano, black pepper, nutmeg, salt, pinch of poultry seasoning and i only use garlic (since my hubby doesn't like onion). Last, i accompany this pie with slices of Foccasia bread & red wine!...Hemmmmm..mama mia...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Pot Luck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Wow. Exactly as advertised, this is a super easy home version of one of my greek restaurant favorites! I made mine with some diced chicken breast instead of poultry seasoning to make it more of a meal than a side. The only thing I thought this recipe fell short on was the topping. I was not a fan of the bread crumbs as a substitute for filo, although it was way easier. I think next time I might try puff pastry instead... kind of like a greek style chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States