Spinach Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
My entire family loves this! I just made it for my grandmother's 90th birthday picnic, and they were gone. I do add garlic as per other reviewers, but they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This recipe was amazing! I'm a relatively inexperienced cook, but this was extremely easy to make, and was a big hit with my roommate. I changed up a few things according to my personal tastes... I sauteed the onion first in a little bit of olive oil, and I added some Greek seasoning to the mixture (no idea what's in it, but it's got a great flavor). I also substitued one 2-cup package of shredded Italian cheeses (comes pre-packaged and includes parmesan, asiago, romano, and mozzarella) for the parmesan and jack cheeses. The only bit I had trouble with was the phyllo. The pies came out nicely browned and flaky, with no spillage of the spinach mixture, but it was a little too papery for me. I think next time I'll use puff pastry sheets or maybe even crescent roll dough like another user suggested. I'll also add a little garlic, as I'm a HUGE fan of garlic in just about everythign! Great recipe, though, I absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I substituted one cup crumbled feta for one cup of the mozzarella cheese, which gave it a great flavor. The only problem I had was that the phyllo dough split open during baking, even when I used a triple layer of dough. I think I'll use more layers and lay the rolls next to each other in a smaller pan, so they support each other. Still, everybody raved about this, and even my kids ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
this was really good but i felt like it needed a little something more... maybe it was the onions that i left out. i added garlic to the spinach mixture thought. i will make this again definitely and add the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Yummy! My husband loved this, he even finished all the leftovers within a day... that's a first in my house. I did add a little bit of feta cheese to it, we like the traditional greek flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Valentine, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Wow, I had doubts because I didn't think cottage cheese was a great ingredient. But it was fantastic - the cottage cheese seemed liked it melded (and melted) with the other ingredients and wasn't....cottage cheesey. My preschool kids liked it, which is rare because they are suspicious of dishes whose ingredients they can't identify. Cheese covers a multitude of culinary sins. Impressively easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I loved these spinach pies. I had trouble with the phyllo dough, but that was probably my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Excellent! It was a big hit at my little dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Very Good! Flavorful and filling with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
My husband loved these! I used crescent rolls instead of the phyllo dough...very easy. I have been requested to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States