Spinach Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JOCONNELL
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
It's good, but I made it with a pie crust, added wild mushrooms, and changed the cheese to Mozzarella and Parmesan to add a bit more zip. I also added two dashes of cayenne. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOCONNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I felt this dish was the potential for greatness. So I ran out of onion, sadly, and we don't use cream for lactose intolerance issues, so I figured I'd use 8 oz of Swiss Cheese (instead of the 1/2 cup as stated) which I grated. I also used 8 eggs for 4 of us. I used about 12-14 oz of fresh spinach. And for some reason I felt lazy and used a food processor to beat the eggs. What I did not know is that after 20 minutes in the oven, this beautiful dish would puff up into nearly a fluffy souflee with a partially moist middle. It was wonderful in a very delicate way. Hubby thought it should have had more flavor and suggested feta and maybe some peppers, but I actually think the delicate and subtle nutmeg, butter, cheeses and spinach go very well here. The spinach acts as a "crust" and holds this together as an entree, and I served with homemade potato cake grilled on a hot skillet. I'd give it another star if it didn't require some tweaking and the photos were more revealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rege
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Easy to follow. I used fresh spinach. I also used Feta cheese and cheddar. It was delicious. Oh and I added one more egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trinny5252
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
It was Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I followed the advice of others, using a whole small, fresh spinach, and adding a couple pieces of crumbled bacon. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BIG BOY
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This is an easy recipe. Use it as a guide. I added 1/4 cup of crispy beacon, 1 bunch of diced green onion along with a whole yellow onion. I mixed my cheeses. It is a wonderful recipe and fun to switch up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Children and parents all loved this at my house. I only used 2 eggs and eyeballed the amount of cream/egg mixture I put into the spinach since I was using an already-opened bag of fresh spinach and didn't quite know how much was in there. Despite the cream this didn't taste overly rich. Wonderful side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara King
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Amazing this is a new family fave and so good for you too easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
this recipes came out very good. The first time i used it i baked it in a 9 inch pie crust shell and substitured the shredded swiss chess for a shredded cheese mixture of cheedar, mozerella and montery jack. it came out great and my mother tolde me that i actually made a spinach qiuche. Very good for a beginnger and very easy to back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjlewis01

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States