Spinach Phyllo Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This turned out really good! I cut up about 5 strips of bacon into little tiny strips, minced 8 garlic cloves finely, minced 4 shallots finely and sautee it in a wok. Then threw in 16 oz. spinach (squeezing the life out of it first). Turn off the stove and added 5 oz. garlic & herb feta cheese and 1/2 of grated parmesan cheese. While the oven is preheating, I filled 15 mini phyllo cups (one package) with the filling, added diced tomato on top, and topped it off with mozzerella cheese. Baked it for about 8-9 mins. at 350 to melt the cheese and get the phyllo cups crisp! OMG, can't tell you how delicious it was! I made 30 cups in all but still have enough filling for another 15 cups which I'll be back in the store picking more up tomorrow! Thanks for the sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nissa G
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars, I would. I made some changes based on the advice I found here and the results were STELLAR: 1.) Use Garlic/Herb Feta. 2.) Doubled the amount of fresh garlic used (we love garlic at our house) 3.) Add a half cup of Parmesan to the mixture. 4.) Diced Roma tomatoes on top of the mixture after it's in the shells (but BEFORE baking) 5.) Shredded mozzarella on top of the tomatoes. These changes resulted in an absolutely delicious winner of a recipe that is on my permanent keep list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Well, I decided to use this recipe to go with a pasta dish that we were having with dinner. I thought that 30 to 40 of these little guys would be way to much but I figured we would eat them as left overs anyway. Well they came out absolutely perfect. I chop my garlic so that its in fairly large chunks and I basically doubled the amount because we love garlic so much. These things had the perfect blend of flavors and we ended up eating all of them with the meal. I give this recipe 5 stars for being quite simple, quick to make, and having wonderful flavor. A great appetizer or even just a healthy snack on rainy afternoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Simple and very tasty. I did tweak it a bit(not that you need to).I Added two eggs, some finely chopped and sauteed mushrooms, finley chopped black olives,a teaspoon of crushed oregano,some black pepper and sprinkled the tops with some parmesan cheese. Excellant, Thanks !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
As another user noted, these are an excellent starting point and I have had tremendous success with making them. I've always added a bit of cream cheese and fresh garlic. I've also done a version with artichoke hearts and parmesan. They are soooo easy and are always a big hit. I think next time I may try the sundried tomatoes another user mentioned - yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
These were good but everyone thought they needed more sauce. I would add a little mayo to moisten them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
These were delicious; I served them with Francis Coppola Pinot Noir and it was a perfect combination. I used garlic & herb crumbled feta and still added the fresh garlic. Very tasty! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I personally loved these, but they didn't go fast at the shower I did. So much easier than using phyllo dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I only gave this four stars b/c I did make some adjustments per the other reviews, however, after making the adjustments it was definately a 5 star recipe. I added parmesan cheese and 3 cloves of garlic (although if you don't love garlic 2 cloves would be enough). When I removed them from the oven I topped half with diced tomoato and the other half with bacon. My guests on NYE gobbled them up as soon as I put them down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACI8878

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
These were great, and super easy. I made them for a baby shower, and everyone loved them. I added extra minced garlic and about 1/2 cup shredded parmesan, and they were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States