Spinach Phyllo Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
These were quick, easy and delicious! The only thing I changed was I added more garlic and I saute the spinach with some garlic, salt & pepper. Everyone raved about them! Definitely will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time. I did see some of the reviews on here, and changed some of the recipe. I only had 2 boxes of fillo cups, so I needed to adjust the recipe. I left out the egg, since I bought frozen creamed spinich (which ended up being a nice addition to the recipe!). Instead of cloves of garlic, I used garlic powder (as well as onion powder, which I think also really helped and was super easy). I also added chives (dry-freezed from the seasonings bottle; it was extra greens I had lying around to help make up for all the extra ingredients I was adding), breadcrumbs (some other spinich recipe I saw called for breadcrumbs, and I was looking for something extra to add to the mix), mozzarella cheese (the feta cheese I bought wasn't enough I felt, so I added extra mozzarella I had in the fridge), and a bit of mayo (someone suggested it to soften the filling). I was very impressed with how easy this recipe was, and how quick it was to prepare! I made these for an event later today, but I was so tempted to eat all of them last night after trying them! I even game some to my friend, who hates most vegetables. She really enjoyed them and said it is something she would actually eat again! Definitely will make this again! The filling was chessy without overdoing it, the frozen cream worked very nicely witht he spinich and herbs I threw in the pot (I just heated everything on a low setting while mixing), and the breadcrumbs made everything more filling. 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
As is this recipe is just ok. I added some smoked sun dried tomato which was a must for flavor. I will add more cheese next time, maybe parmesan or monterey jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Very easy and tasty! Used the garlic and herb feta, added a bit of cream cheese (didn't measure it but about 1/4 cup), a handful of parmesean and a bit of chopped sun dried tomatoes. (Only used one 10 oz. package of spinach and 4 oz feta to make a smaller batch. Used one egg and 2 large garlic cloves. Topped with parm cheese and baked for 8 min. Made approx 24 cups. They were a hit! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These are great. I'd give it 5 stars if the recipe was written as I prepared it. :) My grocery store didn't have phyllo cups so I had to make my own in mini muffin tins out of phyllo dough. Takes a bit more time and patience to prepare, but I predict they looked and tasted better this way. I also added chopped tomato and parm on top. Will be making again and tweaking again for fun new appetizers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
After reading some of the other reviews, i decided to add a little extra flavor to this dish. I added 2 eggs instead of 1, mixed in some parmesan and mozzerella cheese (just a small handful of each), upped the garlic, added some salt and pepper and finely chopped onion. I also chopped a tomato and added to the top of each cup. These were a HUGE hit at my NYE party! I've had a ton of requests to make them again. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAINESMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Surfside Beach, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Tasty and pretty easy, but a little too garlicky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
These were a hit at Easter Dinner. I read some of the reviews and doctored the recipe slightly. I added finely minced sun-dried tomatoes. I used the ones packed in oil...about 8 pieces in all. I also added an additional egg because it looked too dry. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EILEENGB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I was so disappointed with this. After all the amazing reviews, I was expecting a tasty outcome. Instead, I was overwhelmed with the spinach taste. Maybe I should try all the extras (tomatoes, etc.) if I ever try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I cook Spanakopita all the time (Greek Spinach Pie using Phyllo Pastry) and found this recipe and it is absolutely DELIGHTFUL. Made the cups by myself (cut the pastry and then set them in a cupcake tin), that is the only thing I altered. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becstarr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States