Spinach Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I was going to try baking the fritters instead of frying them, to reduce the fat, but the mixture was too runny to make a patty. Instead, I poured the mixture into a muffin tin and baked it at 350 (175C) for about half an hour. It came out great and I would definitely make it again. I also added celery salt and some dill. I'm giving the recipe four stars because it was a great idea and a good base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I was really excited to try this recipe as I need more iron in my diet but I don't like spinach all that much. Well, I'd eat these spinach pancakes any day! Though I did make a couple of mistakes, accidentally leaving out one of the eggs and using baking powder. I wouldn't advise either of these changes as my patties were a bit too fat and never really got crispy, and my husband said they were too floury. I will try them again and update my rating then!Update:Well, I tried these again, this time following the recipe (except that I added a little grated parmesan!), and they were much better. They never really got crispy, maybe because I didn't flatten them enough, but I really liked them the way they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I was so surprised this hadn't been reviewed yet! I would give it 6 stars if I could, because it's SPINACH and it's so GOOD! I followed the recipe exactly. Even my toddler son ate them, which is unusual with them being green and all. Make sure to keep them warm in a 200 degree oven if not serving right away, although they are best eaten immediately! This can even satisfy a craving for something fried, although much healthier than most fried foods! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
For a little variation, I used fresh spinach and I sauted it in Italian dressing. After the pancakes were done, I topped it off with a squeeze of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
If you find they're not crispy enough, it's because you didn't drain the spinach well. I enjoyed mine very much. I seasoned with celery salt and garlic powder, in addition to the salt, pepper, and paprika already called for. I ate them with tzatziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
These were very good. I added 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder, and served with Mom's Dill Sauce. A new and interesting way of serving spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I decided to put garlic powder in these instead of the paprika and I really, really liked them. My hubby and my two-year-old also liked them. My 7 year old liked them only if they were dipped in Ranch dressing (which was delicious) but my 14-year-old didn't care for them at all. Oh well, can't please all of the people all of the time!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very good! Took someone's advice and poured into mini muffin tins and added some mild cheddar and garlic powder. Left out nutmeg cause I didn't have any. Awesome. Had them with a little extra salt. Makes about 2 meal-size servings I wanna make this again with onions and feta :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
These are a huge favorite at my house. I've added everything from poultry seasoning to onion & garlic powder and it always comes out tasting great. My only gripe (and why it doesn't get 5 stars) is that they don't come out crispy enough to justify all the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
We found these pleasant, if a little boring. I added garlic and parmesan cheese and put sour cream on top. They could still use a little jazzing up and next time I may try the feta tip or else make them spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States