Spinach Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made these more for my toddler to get him to eat veggies. They turned out great and he ate them up like a champ! I would highly recommend it for you moms/dads out there who want to get your kids to eat their greens. A few changes. I made a 1/2 batch first to try. I added Parmesan cheese and garlic powder like others had recommended. For a 1/2 batch, I used 2 eggs with 2 tablespoons of flour. I also added about 2-3 tablespoons of heavy cream. The batter was a little thinner than a pancake batter. Fried them up in olive oil and they turned out great. I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I though these were very bland. I even added garlic salt and feta cheese per other reviews. I'd rather just eat sauted spinach, but I might try them again with more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I was going to try baking the fritters instead of frying them, to reduce the fat, but the mixture was too runny to make a patty. Instead, I poured the mixture into a muffin tin and baked it at 350 (175C) for about half an hour. It came out great and I would definitely make it again. I also added celery salt and some dill. I'm giving the recipe four stars because it was a great idea and a good base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I didn't have any paprika, so I just used Lowry's seasoning, pepper and garlic powder instead. I also added parmesan cheese. They were pretty good, but really salty tasting. I think the combo of cheese and Lowry's was too much. We will try these again....I will omit any salty seasoning, stick with the cheese and add some minced garlic. I will update if we try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I used egg whites to eliminate a lot of fat and cholesterol and added a few tablespoons of nutritional yeast to the mix for flavor. These didn't really get crispy but were more like potato pancakes, which was fine. The flavor was good, but would have been pretty bland without the nutritional yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I found these to be very bland. I gave it 3 stars b/c it might be salvaged with more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I've made these twice - once as per recipe & once with the added parm & garlic as others suggested. Both times I found them completely inedible. My 5 year old gagged on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Terrible. I followed the recipe & my family spit it out & asked for bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PORTIA25
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
It needed a bit more flavor otherwise all you taste was the spinach, but all around a very easy recipe. It went over well with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
We found these pleasant, if a little boring. I added garlic and parmesan cheese and put sour cream on top. They could still use a little jazzing up and next time I may try the feta tip or else make them spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States