Spinach Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I've never been a big Quiche fan, but decided to try this for the family. It was amazing. I fixed this up to the point of cooking it in a casserole dish and froze it for a latter dinner, it still came out perfect! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Seibert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harriman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I made this for Mother's Day brunch and it was such a hit! I really liked the crescent rolls as the dough, but I would suggest covering the edges with foil and until the last 5 minutes because they brown really fast. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winthrop, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I tried this today and it was pretty good, except I think the recipe needs a little salt. I doubled the recipe and sauteed the veggies, along with minced garlic, in butter and olive oil. I used two deep-dish crusts instead of crescent rolls and they needed to bake for 45 minutes, then I turned the oven off and left them in for another 15. Could've used more cheese, too. Hubby liked it well enough. Maybe I'll tweak it a little bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I would have given this five stars, except that the crust leaves a bit to be desired. I could not get the quiche to cook fully without the crust turning dark brown and getting very soggy - not appetizing. So I use the "Basic Pie Crust" recipe on this site and it is INCREDIBLE! I also add a couple of pieces of torn up bacon to the quiche for flavor. Great recipe that I have used again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiyamac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Every time I make this, it is a hit. I made cupcake sized quiches using one triangle of dough and folding the corners in until it resembles a circle then placing it in a muffin tin. I spooned in some mix until it was just over the crust (the crescent rolls to like to rise!) and baked them at 375 for 20 minutes. They turned out great! It makes about 16 muffins with two tubes of crescent roll dough (I had a bit left over), and lasts a little bit longer, or it would have if people didn't grab more than one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
There is a herb/lemon SAUCE packet available but did not find soup. These sauce packets are in the dried soup section at my store. I would not use a whole packet for this size quiche. Maybe a fourth or a third at the most. Spinach should be wrapped in a towel to dry before adding. I thawed mine in the collander to get rid of water and then cooked it as dry as possible in a skillet before putting it in the towel. I toasted the mushrooms instead of sauteeing in butter. Much more flavor. Followed the suggestion to put cheese on top of rolls. Used an extra egg yolk and a dash of mace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra Posta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Excellent! My first quiche. Turned out perfectly. Made it for a date with a picky vegetarian and she had seconds and asked to take some leftovers. A couple of notes - used a 9.5in. pie plate and needed 1.5 packs of crescent rolls to cover it. Sauted in olive oil instead of butter. Added a hand full more spinach while sauteing as it reduced considerably. Had to bake it for 45 minutes, covered edges of crust with tinfoil after 30 to keep from burning. Turned out perfectly browned and set in the middle. Put a thin layer of the cheese in the bottom over the crust before pouring in the filling. Used about 1/3 of a 1.5oz pack of Knorr garlic and herb seasoning. Could maybe use a little less. Let it cool at least 10 minutes before serving. Very hot in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Excellent and delightfully flexible dish! After reading the many reviews, I incorporated some of the suggestions and made a couple modifications of my own... I used a muffin pan and made individual quiche. For the filling, I increased the amount by 1/2 again (for instance, 3 cups of spinach rather than 2 cups), and then doubled the crescent amount. 2 8 ounce tubes. Grease the muffin pan. And for each pre-cut crescent triangle ("scalene", all three sides are different lengths), create one equilateral (all sides are equal) and one leftover smaller triangle. Fill a muffin cup with the equilateral triangle, the three tips will poke out above the edge of the cup just a bit. I used the leftover bits of two pieces to fill an additional cup. In all, 16 crescent triangles filled a total of 24 muffin cups this way, and the filling done 1 1/2 fills exactly 24 cups as well. They baked well at the same temperature, for twenty minutes. Additionally, I had tasty results using 2% cheese, lowfat half-n-half, and lowfat crescents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Have made this several times - my daughter loves it! I use what cheese I have on hand - and only 1/2 pkg soup mix - usually herb - has anyone found the lemon?! Very good and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This is a really nice recipe! The crust came out a bit burnt, so I guess I'll find an alternative for the crust. But the rest of the recipe is awsome. I couldn't find the lemon and herb soup mix, so I just went to the spice rack and got the lemon and herbs stuff and but a small handful in and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States