Spinach Marie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was a good recipe. I too did not want to dirty too many pans creating this dish so I followed a couple of other suggestions by doing all the stove-top cooking in one pan. Instead of onions, I used shallots, browned those in 1 TBS of butter, added flour and remaining butter until thickened, then added milk, let that thicken slightly, then added cheese to melt and finished by adding the spinach until heated through and thoroughly mixed and slightly more thickened. Then I dumped it all in the casserole dish to bake. It took longer to bake than the 10 minutes stated. Since most of the heating and cooking is done on the stove-top, the purpose of the oven is to brown the cheese on top. Next time I will use a little higher temp for this purpose. It definitely needs to set-up when removing from the oven. I thought it was way to runny and that I had ruined it, but about 10 minutes to set - it was perfect. I will make this one again as it was a big hit even with my father who hates veggies - he even took seconds! I think because there is soooo much cheese in this recipe, I will reduce the amount next time and maybe add some breadcrumbs to the mixture next time for something a little thicker and with slightly less cholesterol content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
takes some to prepare, but really tasty! i didnt know spinach could taste so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Awesome... the cheese sauce for this is a great base for many things. I did add cream cheese, but other than that pretty much followed the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
this was not a casserole consistency. There is nothing in the recipe holding it together such as eggs or self rising flour. I will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Great spinach dish for vegetarians and those on gluten free diets can sub all purpose G.F. flour for wheat flour. Best yet, it tastes wonderful. I used full fat evaporated milk for richness. Thanks Sal....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
very good!! I used heavy cream in place of the milk because we didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made it for Easter and it was the hit of the table. I used all the ingredients listed but I changed the way I prepared it. I prepared it using only one pan on the top of the stove. I used the 1 tbls. of butter and sauted the onions until browned then I added the 3 tbls. additional butter to the same pan and after it melted I added the flour and blended until a smooth paste formed. After that I added cold milk, the dry mustard and garlic salt. When the mixture thickened I added the cheddar cheese. I stirred the cheese and mixture until the cheese was melted and then added the spinach. Combined it all and then put in into the casserole dish and topped it with the Montery Jack cheese. Popped it in the oven and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was an outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Needs more seasoning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorig23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was very good. My only experience with Spinach Marie is from Old Country Buffet. Like everything else at OCB it was tasteless, but this recipe has renewed my faith in this dish, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States