Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
The soup is terrific. The only regret is that the recipe should have warned to half or eliminate the red pepper if spicey deters anyone. I made this with the red pepper flakes thinking it would only enhance a flavor not enhance spicyness to this degree. I read some of the ratings and nobody else mentioned or complained it was too spicy. I doubled the recipe for the whole family. Now it will have to be eaten by just the two of us instead 7 of us. But, I have made it without the red pepper flakes and very much enjoyed the flavor and ease. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This is really good soup. Used the other reviewers suggestions and added garlic, and did not cook the rice seperatly. Added brown rice when I added the lentils. Also used all of the sausage. It's a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Awesome. I did add celery, fresh garlic, and mushrooms, and used a bit less spinach. Very hearty and delicious. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
couldn't be easier and very tasty! I forgot the spinach but added brocolli, cauliflower and left the carrots in chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Great stuff! Hearty, filling, and just right for a fall evening. Crusty garlic rolls and a crisp salad are perfect accompaniments. The whole family liked this. Do be careful not to overcook the lentils or they will turn to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is comfort food! Used brown rice and more than doubled the amount of kielbasa. Halved the red pepper and it still had a nice kick to it. Used four cans of chicken broth and one can of beef broth instead of water. Included some chopped garlic, chopped celery, escarole instead of spinach, a sprinkle of paprika and two bay leaves. Came out more like a stew than a soup. Easy, quick and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Very good! Made this almost exactly to the recipe, just used half chicken stock, half water, and just threw in the rice to cook with the lentils. My only issue was with the turkey kielbasa - the kind I bought tasted like hot dogs. I'll use the real thing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I took a heavy hand with the cayenne, but the heat was wonderful on a cool day. Will use this one again, perhaps trying chard instead of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Close to my recipe, but try orzo pasta instead of the rice . . . I also add some curry, apples and coconut flakes. Loads of fiber and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Turned out just like it was described and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States