Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This was ok. Not amazing. followed the recipes with the exception of adding garlic. Didn't help. Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Very very good...I make it often in the wintertime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I just loved this recipe. I made some tweaks and made it will all organic vegetables and NO MEAT. I used more like 2/3 cup of whole grain brown rice (which is much better for you than white rice) and added 1 cup of finely chopped celery, 1 cup finely chopped carrots and used leeks instead of an onion. Also added fresh minced garlic, a sprinkle of cumin, and a few sprinkles of basil and celery seed. I added 4 cups reduced sodium organic vegetable broth and 4 cups of filtered water. I cooked the rice with the lentils (like so many people before me recommended) It took a little longer for this kind of rice but it came out fantastic and EVERYONE (even the meat eaters) LOVED IT!!! It was a HUGE hit and I get requests to make this for friends all of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Terrific. Low calorie, high fiber, high protein. Watch the sodium but still pretty good. Feeds a family well with apple slices and some low fat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
At 150 calories and 2.6g fat per serving, this is a 5-star recipe. I liked that the lentils took on the flavor of the small quantity of sausage in this soup (only 4 oz.) making the broth and lentils both taste like a good savory kielbasa. I added celery and cooked my rice in the soup, and added another cup of water at the end becausse I wanted mine more soupy than stew-y. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
After following the directions to the t (well, almost: I did use pasta stars instead of rice), I was not impressed. It was incredibly dense and the flavor was pretty bland, despite the little spiciness it did offer. It seems this recipe has great potential, but as written, it could use some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Very good. Made a few tweaks... Used brown rice, 16 oz. of regular kielbasa, a clove of chopped garlic, 4 c. regular chicken stock, 4 c. water, 1/2 red lentils and 1/2 brown lentils, and used frozen chopped spinach. I also added about a tsp. of cumin as suggested by another rater. I topped the bowls with crumbled bacon. The boyfriend, who is pickier than a toddler with vegetables, and detests spinach, also loved this... asked me to pack him some leftovers for lunch! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This soup is delicious! My 9 year old son can't get enough of it. I made the change of 6 cups of broth (low sodium) and 2 cups of water. I didn't recook the rice but just put it right into the broth with the rest of the ingredients and brought it to boil. Excellent, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
We really liked this. I switched the ratio of broth to water, as recommended by other reviewers, and cooked the rice in the pot. It was easy, tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Excellent soup!! Threw the rice in with the lentils and only used half the spinach because that is all I had left. Added a pinch of cumin as that is a preference for us. Husband ate two big bowls and said he had a new favorite soup! Will make again. Love recipes with lentils. THANKS for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States