Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I made it exactly as written and it was very bland. Salt helped and I also tried a squeeze of lemon, but still thought it needed another dimension. As written, it was not "hearty" but more of a light spinach soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BisBatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I loved this! But my husband didn't quite love it, but he's not a fan of lentils - I've been searching for a recipe he'd be ok with so we can have them more often - and he did like this the best so far for a lentil recipe. I used 1/2 the lentils and used more rice (brown basmati) but other than that I followed the recipe and it really is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
If you substitute some thinly sliced pan-seared pork loin for the kielbasa then this recipe is a great "gluten-free" one for those that have Celiac Disease. Very flavorful! Before cooking the pork I seasoned it with salt and pepper and just a bit of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Didn't not stray too much from original recipe. Had more flavor than anticipated. Added garlic powder, frozen spinach and used brown rice. Next time I will at least double the carrots. May also add celery. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I think if you like lentils it might be good. I personally didn't like it. Easy enough recipe. My husband liked it. I like things with a little more flavor but I also cut out some of the red pepper flakes because I have small kids and didn't want it to be spicy. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was a good soup. I doubled the recipe and used the whole pound of kielbasa. Next time I think I'll try regular Italian sausage. I also used mostly broth instead of all the water the recipe called for, and also used brown rice which I cooked right in the pot. (Added a little extra water to compensate.) Seems like the addition of a can of tomatoes would be nice. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Wow. If I was stuck on an island, and I could only have one meal, this would be it! Everyone in our family stuffed themselves, having 2 and 3 bowls because they could not stop eating this!! I used all chicken broth, no water, and high test chicken broth, not the low sodium kind (we like salt!). I took the advice of others and added uncooked rice directly to the pot. I doubled the rice to 2/3 cup (we like rice!) and added an extra cup of chicken broth to make up for the liquid absorbed by the rice. With the exception of those changes, I kept to the recipe. This was amazing! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This did not do a thing for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This soup is awesome. I will never tire of this one. Easy to make, very healthy, filling and incredibly delicious. No salt goes in the recipe and surprisingly doesn't need it. a keeper for a lifetime. THANK YOU! for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States