Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Excellent! Great base flavour and great nutrition, but it did need some serious seasoning. I used about 1.5-2tsp of salt, a bay leaf, and 1/8 tsps each of cumin and turmeric. Like the other reviews recommended, I switched the stock-water quantities. I also used an entire half link of the kielbasa to treat myself after a good workout :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Like other reviewers, I used 6 cups of low sodium chicken broth and 2 cups water. I couldn't find turkey kielbasa in my grocery store, so I used an all-natural roasted garlic chicken sausage. It was SO GOOD! I ate the entire recipe in two days, alone. The only change I will make next time is to double the amount of red pepper flakes. I found the soup quite mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Fabulous. Used skinless turkey keilbasa, made it easier to eat, harder for teenager to turn nose up! Switched stock/water values. Will use more keilbasa next time (and double/triple!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEEJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I loved this soup. I used cooked lentils and left out a cup of water. I also added a little Parmesan cheese when I served it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My family loved this!! I took tips from other reviewers and used 6 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water, used 8 oz of kielbasa instead of 4 oz, added 3 cloves minced garlic to onion/carrot, and threw brown rice in along with the lentils (it cooked just fine...no need to cook seperate). Will make again, and again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Very delicious. I've never had lentils before and this was a great way to try them for the first time. The soup keeps well as well, as it kept for me in the fridge for a week. The only problem I had with it was that the flavors weren't as strong as I would have liked them to be so I had to experiment with it until it was perfect. Other than that, great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bright, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was extremely good. I used beef kielbasa and brown rice. For the liquids added 4 cups chicken broth and 2 cups water. Any more would have been too watery. As I made it, this soup is a keeper at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Just made this for lunch. It was awesome! I used smoked beef sausage and not as much pepper flakes. Hubby liked it too. Next time I'll probably add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
GREAT soup! I used chicken broth instead of water and didn't really measure it. I just add what I need as I go. I also used 1/2 tsp chipotle pepper instead of the red pepper flakes. I would have used more if our kids weren't eating it. Everyone LOVED it! (even 6, 4 and 2 year old!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Photo by Ali
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made the soup exactly like the recipe suggested. I love it, i am a big spinach fan and this soup has plenty! It is the first time I cooked lentils, it was very easy and I like them. The only thing I might add next time is fresh garlic..saute with the carrot and onion..and maybe more turkey sausage..it tastes great with the lentils. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States