Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Made this for a vegetarian group using vegetable broth and added brown rice (already cooked) until the soup reached the consistency and visual appeal I desired. It looked good (a whole lot better than the photo), tasted good, amd received rave reviews from everyone. I've already added this to my personal recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I just dumped all the ingredients in the crock pot and let it cook all day and it was delicious. I used opposite stock/water measurements (made broth from chicken base mix) and I added a spoonful of garlic from the jar. Watch the red pepper flakes, it was spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Good hearty soup. Great for people on low sodium diets. I made as is but next time I will use all regular chicken broth with no water added. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capemaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Simply Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank-NC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This soup was very good, although I did make some changes. I used ground sweet italian sausage, more chicken broth than water and a little italian seasoning. The bag of spinach cooks down a lot so you do need the whole bag. We like our soup a little salty so we did need to add parmesan cheese to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Growing up in Minnesota and now living in Alaska, I've considered myself something of a soup aficionado for about as long as I can remember. With respect to this recipe, I wish my grandmother were still here to enjoy THIS one! Reminded me of her navy bean and ham soup, with a contemporary (trans. healthier) spin. SO TASTY, and SO EASY! My boyfriend and I LOVED this soup, and fought over leftovers for lunches! ;-) Thanks for a delicious addition to my soup repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Love this recipe - with a few changes. Took the advice of many and reversed the broth and water amounts. Did not like the descriptions that said if you get past the looks....so I omitted the rice and being a hugh fan of spinach, added 16 ounces, served with grated romano cheese. Will make this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I've never liked lentils but this recipe has changed my mind. The flavor is wonderful. I've already made it twice in 10 days. My husband loved it too. I did follow other reviews suggestions and decreased the crushed red pepper flakes since I don't like food to spicy. I also reversed the chicken broth and water amounts. This is a great addition to my list of low-fat, low-sodium recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this soup! I used some leftover turkey breast & some turkey stock (along w/ low sodium chicken broth), and added some chopped celery leaves. You just can't go wrong, adding whatever you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States