Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Turned out just like it was described and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
this was pretty good! not extra special but we enjoyed it. i made exactly as recipe is stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
My husband made this tonight per my instructions, doing the water/broth change as suggested by many others. I also had him put in a half of a kielbasa which amounted to 7 oz, not 4. There was DEFINITELY not enuf liquid in this "soup" (which was more like a lentil stew) so for sure nexst time I'll add more broth (10-20 oz more) and theres no reason why to not add the rest of the kielbasa. I also will cut the kielbasa in bigger pieces ... the recipe said "chopped" and my husband took it pretty literally and did chop it into pretty little pieces. I loved the spinach flavor (used 2 bunches of fresh). Lastly, even with just the little bit of red pepper flakes it was pretty spicy, so if you have little kids you might want to leave it out altogether. All in all this was pretty good and with some tweaking the recipe could be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was good. I used the extra broth suggested by other reveiwers. Think it could have used more kielbasa and be eaten as a stew, and I would like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I definitely enjoyed this soup more today as lunchtime leftovers than I did as dinner when I made it last night. Even with the 6-to-2 ratio of broth to water that people suggested, I still feel like this recipe was lacking something flavor-wise...I'm just not quite sure what that "something" is. This is a good base recipe, but be prepared to season it up really well if you're anything like myself and prefer flavorful foods. I think with the appropriate seasonings (perhaps some garlic, for starters), this would be a 4-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
WOW. This soup is utterly fantastic and I can't believe how low the calories are. I had two bowls for dinner with zero guilt. The only change I made was substituting a little Mexican seasoning for the red pepper flakes which I was out of, and added an extra two carrots. Thank you thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Very good! Left out the kielbasa and added the rice with the lentils. I used 6 cups of stock and 2 of water and it was a bit too salty for me. But definitely a keeper! My very picky 6 year old even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I made this soup a few weeks ago with my 12 yr. old niece. We took the advice of a lot of the reviewers and switched the broth and water measurements. As we ate it, my niece said, "this is the best soup I've ever had" ! Out of the mouths of babes ! It was delicious !! My boyfriend who made a face when I told him about it, thought it was GREAT !! I gave the recipe to my sister, and she loved it as well. Next time I make it I'm going to add more kielbasy, some mushrooms and possibly some celery. I'd also like to try it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooz118

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
My husband and I loved this soup. The reviews are so helpful because you can pick and choose to adapt to your tastes. I put the uncooked rice in the pot when I added the liquid. I used 6 cups of water and three dry packages of sodium free bouillon, doubled the kielbasa, and added minced garlic. Wonderful! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Made this for a vegetarian group using vegetable broth and added brown rice (already cooked) until the soup reached the consistency and visual appeal I desired. It looked good (a whole lot better than the photo), tasted good, amd received rave reviews from everyone. I've already added this to my personal recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States