Spinach Lasagna with Walnut Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Pretty good but could be bettered with a few changes. For us, the basil overpowered the mild and subtle flavors of fresh baby spinach and walnuts, and for that reason, we would cut back on the 3 cups packed fresh basil (i.e., 6 ounces) to around 2 cups (i.e., 4 ounces) or a bit less. If you prefer a pesto with a strong basil flavor over a less intense one, then make the walnut pesto as written. Unlike most vegetable lasagnas, this recipe tends to be dry, especially the lasagna noodles around the edges of the pan. To counteract that tendency, increase the amount of tomato sauce and squeeze out less water than usual from the spinach as the pesto itself was dry. Basically, half the sauce (12 ounces) is spread at bottom of pan, with two subsequent layers of sauce (6 ounces each) which is really thin when covering a 9" x 13" pan. In spite of placing foil over the pan per the instructions, don’t waste putting oven-ready noodles on top as they harden and curl up at the ends, and not appealing to look at or eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This was really yummy and my guests enjoyed it too! I used four cheese pasta sauce in place of the sugar free tomato sauce and used 2 boxes of frozen spinach in place of fresh. I also used the no-boil noodles and I think that is why the only change I would make is to increase the tomato sauce because the tops and sides of the lasagna were too crispy (I actually ripped off the top pieces, they were so hard and inedible). So next time I would add another half jar of sauce or maybe even the whole jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
We enjoyed this! It would work probably just as well with premade pesto from the store for a faster recipe (but that's personal preference, of course it was great homemade) and I didn't use as much spinach as it called for because I didn't have it and it was still delish. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Used 2 packages of frozen spinach, defrosted in the microwave and did NOT squeeze it. The extra liquid is necessary because I used dry noodles. Also used 1 tube 4oz of Basil Herb Blend because that's what I had in the fridge. Used a gigantic roasting pan as a 9x13 is not big enough. Added 1 box of fresh mushrooms sauteed with 1 chopped onion. 1 whole jar of tomato sauce on the bottom and 1 jar on the top. 1 hour in the 350 oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I don't add the walnuts (cept in the pesto), but I add lots of spinach. I like this recipe much better with ricotta than a substitute like cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I used regular noodles that I cooked first. I omitted the garlic as the pesto has plenty. I used fresh onion and herbs. I doubled the sauce and mozarella cheese. Lasagna is one of those dishes that you just have to go with what you are used to and according to your taste. I put sauce and mozarella on top. This is a good recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great recipe! I followed recipe but added an extra 4 ounces of mozzarella and a layer of grilled sliced zucchini. Also used uncooked wheat lasagna noodles. I made this for a baptism lunch for a bunch of meat eaters...it had them asking for the recipe! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
this is 5 stars for a couple reasons: 1. EASY 2. minimal prep and therefore minimal clean up 3. quick to make I used prepared pesto, and nixed the walnuts (those are expensive! _ but have tried with them and it is delish) and frozen spinach (2 packs). Also used packaged grated cheese (i buy several packages when they're on sale and freeze them). my meat eating boys (husband and son) didn't even miss the meat... in fact they requested this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as listed and it was to die for. I typically do not care for lasagna but I couldn't get enough of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I didn't use all the pesto and it was still very strong. Next time I will use half the pesto, double the tomato sauce and maybe a little bit less garlic. Anyway it was still a very good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmalchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States