Spinach Lasagna III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I loved the taste of this lasagna but the amount of ingredients is flawed. I only used 12 lasagna noodles, needed more mozzarella (OK, we're cheese freaks in our house), and way more pasta sauce. I used small curd cottage cheese instead of ricotta as my hubby doesn't like ricotta. The result was delicious! It was my first time making lasagna, and it is so labor-intensive that I won't be making it again in a hurry, but this will be my go-to lasagna recipe! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Thought it definitely needed more sauce than indicated, but a fantastic recipe all in all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
After many concerns and no answers on other reviews here are my own answers after finishing the recipe: YES you can make ahead, I stored mine uncooked in the fridge overnight and cooked it next day for dinner, just don’t cook the noodles; buy pre-cooked and add a little bit more sauce. YES you can use cottage cheese, just drain it for a while and press it so most of the water comes off the taste is very similar to ricotta and cheaper. YES you can add a layer of meat, just cook it with a little minced garlic and olive oil. NO the spinach is not enough, add 1 more cup. And finally YES you can cook the spinach with the mushroom/onion mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Made this the other day and liked it. Don't use twenty noodle, 9 is good for one 9x13 pan. Made other changes too. Cut back on the ricotta cheese and added some cottage cheese along with fresh parsley. Didn't add the egg and it was fine. Also add your own seasonings such as garlic powder and Italian seasoning along with anything else you think would be good. And you don't need to cook the spinach and should add lots more than 2 cups. And you might need to add more sauce too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Quitta
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was my first ever homemade meatless lasagna, and after a few tweaks I found it quite tastey. I used spaghetti sauce(Pregos chunky garden) instead of tomato paste adding it to each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I cut the recipe in half but only used 7 sheets of lasagna. I also did not use Romano cheese and used about 1/2 cup of spinach and 1/2 cup of zucchini. And it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is a good recipe but 20 lasagna noodles is way too much for a 9 x 13 pan. 9 lasagna noodles is enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille Desrochers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great recipe. It got rave reviews. I did saute the fresh baby spinach after the vegetables & used more than suggested, a lot more, since I had a big package of it. I ended up using 15 lasagna noodles instead of 20. I also used an artichoke pasta sauce which was a lovely touch. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Absolutely delicious and savory! This is truly amazing and it's my go to recipe now for lasagna. I had to tweak to omit the onion, because we have family members who won't eat onion at all, and replaced with extra mushrooms. I sauteed the mushrooms in olive oil until they were caramelized. I added extra spinach, just a bit more, to my liking. I'll have at least someone who's never tried it ask "where's the meat?" but after they taste it, I never hear another word and enjoy watching them go back for seconds. I'm a meat eater myself, but will never go back after this recipe! Ironically, I've been trying to find a meat lasagna recipe for years that's close to my Aunt's and this is the closest I've found. I think the sauteed mushrooms, herbs and garlic added to a fresh spinach and ricotta filling topped with fresh grated Parmesan, Romano and mozzarella cheeses are key. Thank you so much Robbie for sharing the perfect lasagna recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States