Spinach Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
Great dish! I loved it! Good flavor, easy to make, and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Wonderful taste. No one even knows there is tofu in it. This freezes well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
Whats great about this dish is that non vegetarians love it as much as a meat lasagna...niether my boyfriend nor I are vegetarians but I eat a lot of health foods so I'm used to tofu but my boyfriend is a meat and potatos type guy who smothers everything in cheese...but I didn't tell him what was in this lasagna before he ate it and he loved it...he said it was the best lasagna he'd ever had! I've even made it only with tofu cheese and he still devoured it. Its a great recipe because its delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Try cooking and draining the spinach prior to adding it to the recipe so that you can remove the water that is released when the spinach cooks. Otherwise the lasagna will turn out watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
Next time omit garlic, smelled for days Used ricotta instead of cream cheese, tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
I love this recipe! I make for company all the time and get rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This lasagna was well-liked by my discerning tasters. A few things I changed: Left the foil off, and it turned out fine (there was plenty of water that needed evaporating), added some sauteed veggies that i mixed in with the spinach/ricotta portion (carrots, mushrooms, peppers), and added more spice. Tasted even better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This lasagna was AMAZING! Ok, so I did change things. I think "tomato sauce" really means "spaghetti sauce" in this recipe, so that's what I used. My guess is that the people who thought it was bland used plain tomato sauce. (If you use plain tomato sauce you'll want to add some sugar and Italian seasonings to make up the difference.) I also added a zucchini, a yellow squash, and a portabello mushroom, all chopped and saulted with the onions and garlic and added to the cheese mixture. I used more parsley than the recipe called for. I didn't have fresh parsley so I was using dry. Normally with dry you want to use less, but I decided to throw in 1/4 cup. My casserole dish was overflowing before I'd used all of the ingredients, so I didn't get a chance to use all of the tomato sauce. Even so there was a lot of extra liquid once I cut out the first piece. No harm done, but I'll probably cook the spinach first, like other people suggested and drain off all of the extra liquid. Oh and one last thing. 1.5lbs of spinach seemed like a ton so I only ended up using half. I definitely recommend chopping it first. When chopping greens a good hint is to put them in a glass measuring cup (or similarly shaped container) and use kitchen scissors to chop them up (the scissors should point into the container). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I prepared this for one of my Christmas dinner dishes. I omitted tofu for the non-vegetarians in my family. It was a hit for my family who are used to me preparing lasagna with meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyTemple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was yummy. Because of previous reviews, I used a flavoured tomato sauce with basil and only 4 1/2 cups of it, added 1/4 c chopped fresh basil, and seasoned my layers with freshly ground pepper. I substituted cottage for ricotta since that was what I had, and used close to a pound of mozza. I also did my cheese & spinach layer in the food processor so it was all a nice consistency. The dish seemed a bit watery when I first took it out of the oven but set beautifully with pretty layers overnight in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States