Spinach Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Try cooking and draining the spinach prior to adding it to the recipe so that you can remove the water that is released when the spinach cooks. Otherwise the lasagna will turn out watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
It would be good to mention that the spinach should be uncooked, and torn into smaller pieces. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This lasagna was AMAZING! Ok, so I did change things. I think "tomato sauce" really means "spaghetti sauce" in this recipe, so that's what I used. My guess is that the people who thought it was bland used plain tomato sauce. (If you use plain tomato sauce you'll want to add some sugar and Italian seasonings to make up the difference.) I also added a zucchini, a yellow squash, and a portabello mushroom, all chopped and saulted with the onions and garlic and added to the cheese mixture. I used more parsley than the recipe called for. I didn't have fresh parsley so I was using dry. Normally with dry you want to use less, but I decided to throw in 1/4 cup. My casserole dish was overflowing before I'd used all of the ingredients, so I didn't get a chance to use all of the tomato sauce. Even so there was a lot of extra liquid once I cut out the first piece. No harm done, but I'll probably cook the spinach first, like other people suggested and drain off all of the extra liquid. Oh and one last thing. 1.5lbs of spinach seemed like a ton so I only ended up using half. I definitely recommend chopping it first. When chopping greens a good hint is to put them in a glass measuring cup (or similarly shaped container) and use kitchen scissors to chop them up (the scissors should point into the container). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I used whole wheat noodles to make it even healthier. It did turn out a little watery, but that wasn't a big deal. I added lots of herbs and seasonings, and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This is a good recipe but I had to make 2 changes out of necessity. Instead of the tomato sauce I used a can of diced tomatos - italian style and stirred that into a little spaghetti sauce. I also omitted the tofu - husband not a fan. Great way to get veggies into a kid's diet, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
my sister in law and i made this recipe last night. We enjoyed it very much. we changed a few things though, we used italian sausage instead of tofu and we made alfredo sauce instead of red sauce. it was delicious. difinatley something we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I prepared this for one of my Christmas dinner dishes. I omitted tofu for the non-vegetarians in my family. It was a hit for my family who are used to me preparing lasagna with meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyTemple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
My 2 year old LOVES this stuff, go figure. I did make changes though: 1) saute misc garden veggies together(onion, zucchini, mushrooms) plus garlic in olive oil, and then add tomato sauce, let simmer. 2) Added a little extra tomato sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
this was pretty good, tho i should have heeded other reviewer's advice about adding more spices and maybe cutting up the spinach. i thought it could have been a little hotter when it came out of the oven, too, but no one else complained. so overall, quite tasty and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Wonderful taste. No one even knows there is tofu in it. This freezes well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States