Spinach Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This is a great starting point recipe. I made it to the letter the first time around and found it to be quite good. I then took some tips from other reviewers and almost tripled the amount of spinach and I added 8oz. of crumbled feta cheese along with double the amount of mushrooms. THEN I found it to be FANTASTIC... A New Favorite Recipe has been born. THank You for posting your recipe. I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I think this is a great place to start for Tofu Lasagna! Just to be clear, I used this recipe as a base because I could not find the last recipe I used. I used fresh Arugula instead of Spinach and added wine instead of water to deglaze the pan. I didn't use any parsley as I was using a store-bought sauce (Prego) and figured that would take care of most of the seasoning. I also used no-boil pasta (mostly because it was easier) and everything turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was yummy. Because of previous reviews, I used a flavoured tomato sauce with basil and only 4 1/2 cups of it, added 1/4 c chopped fresh basil, and seasoned my layers with freshly ground pepper. I substituted cottage for ricotta since that was what I had, and used close to a pound of mozza. I also did my cheese & spinach layer in the food processor so it was all a nice consistency. The dish seemed a bit watery when I first took it out of the oven but set beautifully with pretty layers overnight in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I prepared this for one of my Christmas dinner dishes. I omitted tofu for the non-vegetarians in my family. It was a hit for my family who are used to me preparing lasagna with meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyTemple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
My 2 year old LOVES this stuff, go figure. I did make changes though: 1) saute misc garden veggies together(onion, zucchini, mushrooms) plus garlic in olive oil, and then add tomato sauce, let simmer. 2) Added a little extra tomato sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This is a good recipe but I had to make 2 changes out of necessity. Instead of the tomato sauce I used a can of diced tomatos - italian style and stirred that into a little spaghetti sauce. I also omitted the tofu - husband not a fan. Great way to get veggies into a kid's diet, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
my sister in law and i made this recipe last night. We enjoyed it very much. we changed a few things though, we used italian sausage instead of tofu and we made alfredo sauce instead of red sauce. it was delicious. difinatley something we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This lasagna was AMAZING! Ok, so I did change things. I think "tomato sauce" really means "spaghetti sauce" in this recipe, so that's what I used. My guess is that the people who thought it was bland used plain tomato sauce. (If you use plain tomato sauce you'll want to add some sugar and Italian seasonings to make up the difference.) I also added a zucchini, a yellow squash, and a portabello mushroom, all chopped and saulted with the onions and garlic and added to the cheese mixture. I used more parsley than the recipe called for. I didn't have fresh parsley so I was using dry. Normally with dry you want to use less, but I decided to throw in 1/4 cup. My casserole dish was overflowing before I'd used all of the ingredients, so I didn't get a chance to use all of the tomato sauce. Even so there was a lot of extra liquid once I cut out the first piece. No harm done, but I'll probably cook the spinach first, like other people suggested and drain off all of the extra liquid. Oh and one last thing. 1.5lbs of spinach seemed like a ton so I only ended up using half. I definitely recommend chopping it first. When chopping greens a good hint is to put them in a glass measuring cup (or similarly shaped container) and use kitchen scissors to chop them up (the scissors should point into the container). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This lasagna was well-liked by my discerning tasters. A few things I changed: Left the foil off, and it turned out fine (there was plenty of water that needed evaporating), added some sauteed veggies that i mixed in with the spinach/ricotta portion (carrots, mushrooms, peppers), and added more spice. Tasted even better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
this was pretty good, tho i should have heeded other reviewer's advice about adding more spices and maybe cutting up the spinach. i thought it could have been a little hotter when it came out of the oven, too, but no one else complained. so overall, quite tasty and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States