Spinach Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I needed to make this non-dairy (parve) so I used Earth Balance instead of butter and Tofutti sour cream instead of regular. I also couldn't find onion soup mix so I simply sauteed an onion and some garlic and added that to the mix. As well, I used only three boxes of 9oz spinach - a fourth box would have been overkill - and I LOVE spinach, so that's saying something. With that, it was good; I think the flavors get better as leftovers. I have a feeling it would be much richer with the real butter and sour cream... This won't be a regular for us, but I will make it every once in a while for a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was missing something...It was too dry... I followed the directions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
A large recipe so be sure to scale as needed. We enjoyed this kugel. A good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I really liked this side dish! I used shells because that's all I had and used wilted fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Made this for my jewish companion....he was not very impressed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I liked this, just didn't love it. I was not happy with the overwhelming flavor of the onion soup mix. Next time I will try with sauteed onions and maybe even mushrooms. Maybe some fresh garlic? And then add seasonings to taste. Also, the noodles on top were too hard and crunchy. I will cover next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Having become part of a Jewish family in the last few years I was looking for easy kugel recipes. This one has always been a hit and it's very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
My husband and father LOVED LOVED LOVED it! It was really good.. wouldn't change a thing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Quite fun to make and very tasty .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Very tasty! I halved the recipe, used two boxes of spinach, and made the recipe parve by using Tofutti sour cream and margarine instead of regular sour cream and butter. I served it with tzimmes and really enjoyed the savory-sweet contrast between the dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States