Spinach-Infused Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
These potatoes stand alone without the gravy. While the gravy was also very good, it hides some of the other flavors. I didn't really feel like one needed the other but they were good together, if that makes sense. I used red skin-on potatoes, cooked in the micro in a covered dish for about 8 minutes, and rough chopped the spinach. It was still a little hard to incorporate but a bigger bowl is all that was probably needed. I subbed 1% milk for the cream and the gravy was still quite thick and creamy. The gravy was also good on the oven fried pork chops that this accompanied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Great unique recipe! The gravy has a lot of flavor and is so yummy, and the spinach is a great way to switch up your mashed potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleenem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
The bellpepper gravy was amazing. I think I will use red potatoes next time and real bacon and I like the suggestion of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
These were horrible. I love spinach and couldn't taste it or anything but the peppers in these mashed potatoes. I would suggest making a standard traditional mash potato over these any day of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Aulwes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Didn't care that much for the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was a really good recipe. You can't taste the spinach in the potatoes at all..so a good way to sneak in some veggies! The bell pepper gravy was really good. I love the combination. I'm already wondering what else the gravy would be good on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I used real bacon instead of bacon bits and skipped the pepper gravy. It was good, and I'll make it again. I'll roast the garlic next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I didn't think this had great flavor but I like the idea. I'll keep playing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Fabulous! I did not make the gravy for the potatoes as the recipe suggested. They were great and super easy for my dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Claye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
My sister and I made this for a Christmas dinner (with roast and sauteed portobello mushrooms), and it was fantastic. The only change we made was to use real bacon, because we had some on hand. The dish is very colorful, very flavorful, and incredibly unique -- but not at all difficult to make and seems impossible to mess up. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States