Spinach Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This is a decent recipe, however, it did not meet up to my expectations after having read the reviews. As a few said, there is something lacking in flavor. I doubled the carrots and at the end added some salt and extra pepper and still felt that there was a component missing. The soup is extremely liquidy- not thick at all. It is a good started base; if I use it again I will probably add potatoes for thickening and perhaps some broccoli. I am not sure where the times came from because it took me double the time to prep this soup, and left me with a massive pile of dirty dishes and utensils. Overall, I think the recipe tasted nice but was not necessarily worth the time or effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
it was a good soup, and i did use the leftovers in a pasta sauce, also added chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Really nice recipe. It was a little too thin so my husband added some blended boiled potatoes. Even our spinach-hating two year old had seconds! I put grated pecorino romano cheese and cayenne pepper in mine, and that really made it savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Excellent base recipe. I did add some hot sauce and garlic & onion powder to the broth to add some additional flavor. I also used fat free half & half instead of heavy cream and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Really good! I used my immersion blender and just halfway made it smooth cause I wanted a bit of texture. Nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I decided to make this soup one day while feeling bored. It turned out FANTASTIC! Loved the spinach and garlic flavour and the rich green colour of the soup! Everyone in my family asked for seconds and i was asked to make this soup again the next day! The only changes I made were that I didnt use carrots as I didnt have any at home at the moment, and used whole milk instead of cream as my sister was on a diet. But it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is very good soup! I actually don't taste "spinach" -- and the garlic isn't heavy in the taste either. I made the recipe as it's written, it's easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Excellent soup! After reading a number of recipes on this site, I settled on this recipe with a few changes. A number of people complained about the number of pots used in this recipe. I solved this by changing the order of the cooking. Melt the butter, saute the onions, garlic and carrots. Sprinkle the flour over this mixture and cook out the flour-y taste with the spices. Pour in the broth and bring to a boil. Stir in spinach (I used 6 large cups of fresh spinach). Cook this for 15-20 minutes over medium heat. Then I used yogurt, about a cup, stir this in and heat through. Then puree in batches in a blender or with an immersion blender. Sprinkled Parmesan and croutons on top, delish! Also, this is more like 6 servings or 8 appetizer servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Halifax, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was better than I expected; the whole family liked it (and no one here is a big spinach eater)! We will reduce the garlic to 6 cloves next time, and we added 3 strips of precooked bacon (chopped) for a little extra fun. I also cheated and boiled the onions and garlic in the stock to make them soft instead of browning them in a separate pan. Then I chopped the spinach finely and added it instead of blending the soup. It came out a little more green than the picture (not so green that it was weird to eat), but only dirtied one pot and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States