Spinach Enchiladas Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This was amazing!!! I used queso fresco instead of Monterey Jack and made it the casserole way. I layered sour cream/salsa mix, cheese, tortillas, repeat. I baked it with extra green salsa on top and sprinkled on the remaining queso fresco 5 minutes before it was done. I didn't use the whole of the spinach because I was worried it would be soggy, but I wish I would have used all of it. The spinach was great. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I only gave this four stars because I can't take the heat as much - it was wonderful though. I just added extra sour cream to cool it down for me when I plated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is an easy, basic recipe that you can alter to your liking. My changes: added ranch style black beans and sauteed chopped purple onions to the inside of each enchilada, and about a teaspoon of cumin to the sour cream and salsa verde mixture. My grocery didn't have Monterey Jack, so I used a "Mexican Blend" of 4 cheeses. I also used flour tortillas out of personal preference. Instead of just putting salsa on top, I made more of the sour cream/salsa mixture and used that instead. Turned out really well...even my meat-and-potatoes boyfriend was raving and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This is a very good recipe!!! It tasted so good and my family loved it! I did have to do the lasanga style that some people mentioned in other comments, because it was easier than frying the tortilla so it could bend. Im under 18 and i still could make it in less than 10 minutes. (not including bake time). Overall I think it is a healthy, easy alternative to regular chicken enchiladas that satisfies like one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydneyd523

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Decided to follow some of the other reviews and add mushrooms, onion and green pepper to stuff in the enchiladas. Delicious! Had no problems with the spinach though I stuffed baby spinach in whole. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktr2567

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Awesome! I added black beans between the spinach and cheese and it was delicious. Also, a semi-easy tip for working with the corn tortillas...and yes, the flavor is absolutely worth it. Heat them individually on each side in a dry iron skillet until they are more pliable. My partner and I used an assembly line process where I heated the tortillas and he stuffed and rolled them. Placing them fold down eliminated the need for toothpicks. Will definitely add these to the recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
My family loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
SUPER yum! I have a confession to make.... I didn't think these would be anything spectactular, but boy was I surprised! :) Not only were these easy to prepare (the most time-consuming part was chopping the spinach), they were OUT OF THIS WORLD DEEELICIOUS!!! My parents and enchilada-hating husband also liked these - a LOT! NOTE: Instead of using salsa verde, I purchased an 8 oz. pouch of Rick Bayless's green enchilada sauce. Another important point to mention is that I didn't find it necessary to dip my (white) corn tortillas in oil to soften. I just zapped the entire stack of them in my microwave for ~20 seconds and very gently filled each one to prevent tearing. I ended up using 1 c. of cheese INSIDE my enchiladas, the rest on top and just eyeballing the amount of salsa, sour cream and spinach in each one (NICEGIRL's directions were quite vague - I purchased a 10 oz. bag of pre-washed spinach leaves and prolly used less than half of it). Setting these babies under the broiler for a couple of minutes produced ooey-gooey yummy enchiladas! Served with Mexican rice, buttered corn, chips, guacamole and margaritas. I'm pleased to report that there were no complaints and empty plates to clean! Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, NICEGIRL512. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Mmmm! When I make a sauce like this I usually add the 1c of sour cream to a 28oz. can of Las Palmas green enchilada sauce and mix half the cheese with all the filling ingredients. If I'm rolling the tortillas, to soften them I microwave them for about 30 sec. to cut a few calories, but the traditional way is to fry them 'till soft. If I layer them I don't need to soften them. Then I dip the tortillas into the sauce, add the filling and roll, placing them seam side down in pan, or add another layer of dipped tortillas if layering, and cover with remaining sauce and cheese. To kick up the heat a notch I sometimes add a small can of Ortega diced green chilies or jalapenos to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Don't bother rolling the tortillas. It is really good layered like many people suggested. Definitely use corn tortillas. One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States