Spinach Enchiladas Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
My family loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
SUPER yum! I have a confession to make.... I didn't think these would be anything spectactular, but boy was I surprised! :) Not only were these easy to prepare (the most time-consuming part was chopping the spinach), they were OUT OF THIS WORLD DEEELICIOUS!!! My parents and enchilada-hating husband also liked these - a LOT! NOTE: Instead of using salsa verde, I purchased an 8 oz. pouch of Rick Bayless's green enchilada sauce. Another important point to mention is that I didn't find it necessary to dip my (white) corn tortillas in oil to soften. I just zapped the entire stack of them in my microwave for ~20 seconds and very gently filled each one to prevent tearing. I ended up using 1 c. of cheese INSIDE my enchiladas, the rest on top and just eyeballing the amount of salsa, sour cream and spinach in each one (NICEGIRL's directions were quite vague - I purchased a 10 oz. bag of pre-washed spinach leaves and prolly used less than half of it). Setting these babies under the broiler for a couple of minutes produced ooey-gooey yummy enchiladas! Served with Mexican rice, buttered corn, chips, guacamole and margaritas. I'm pleased to report that there were no complaints and empty plates to clean! Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, NICEGIRL512. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Mmmm! When I make a sauce like this I usually add the 1c of sour cream to a 28oz. can of Las Palmas green enchilada sauce and mix half the cheese with all the filling ingredients. If I'm rolling the tortillas, to soften them I microwave them for about 30 sec. to cut a few calories, but the traditional way is to fry them 'till soft. If I layer them I don't need to soften them. Then I dip the tortillas into the sauce, add the filling and roll, placing them seam side down in pan, or add another layer of dipped tortillas if layering, and cover with remaining sauce and cheese. To kick up the heat a notch I sometimes add a small can of Ortega diced green chilies or jalapenos to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Don't bother rolling the tortillas. It is really good layered like many people suggested. Definitely use corn tortillas. One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
YUM! Made with green enchilada sauce and this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
The recipe itself was very tasty, but I can only give it 4 stars as written. 7 ounces of salsa is nowhere near enough. I'm also confused as to what a 10 ounce package of tortillas is supposed to be (what diameter? I'm assuming 6 tortillas since 6 servings, but this is not the most intuitive way of describing). I also didn't use nearly that much cheese nor do I think it necessary. I used baby spinach and instead of slice, I took handfuls and crumpled/tore to get a nice sized pile for each enchilada. I ended up using 'taco sized' whole wheat tortillas by Mission. Yes they were flour, I know I know. However, because they were simply rolled, I had no problems with breaking/tearing at all. Didn't have to warm them or anything. I also confess, I added some shredded chicken. I just needed to add some protein to the meal. I'm not entirely sure how much spinach/salsa/sour cream I ended up using inside the enchiladas, but to 1/2 cup sour cream I certainly added more than 3.5 oz of green salsa. I think I should have added more, too; the sauce was a good base to let the tortillas soak up, but was very mild. I also put a lot more than 3.5 oz on top. Just buy a 16oz jar or so and use what you like. I'll make it again with my changes, no question, so thank you for the recipe anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Sorry found this recipe to be bland and not something I would want to cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Swanson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is a great recipe for a quick and easy weeknight meal. I added cilantro and extra spinach. Thanks NICEGIRL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Wow! I would have given this 5 stars, but I changed a few things to suit my family's tastes. That said, this is a fabulous one to play with!! I shredded rotisserie chicken and added chopped fresh cilantro, mushrooms, and thinly diced onions - YUM!! Then, I doubled the salsa - mixing 2 (7oz) cans of Herdez Salsa Verde with 1 C sour cream - and mixed about 1/2 of that in with my chicken mixture. Oh, I also added the shredded MJ cheese directly to the chicken mixture. Divide the filling evenly among 10 whole grain (corn is too difficult to work with) tortillas and roll them up. Spread remaining salsa mixture over the top of rolls and cook for 20 minutes at 350. I served with spanish rice and got rave reviews from my DH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I thought these tasted good but My Hubster said they were excellent. I did have to take off a start bc I found some of the measurements and directions to be off. The recipe calls for you to mix together half the salsa and sour cream but then it is not totally clear how you were to use it. it says to fill the tortilla with some sour cream and salsa but does that mean the mixture or the reserved ingredients. I decided to mix all the salsa and sour cream together and use it that way. put a bit in the bottom, used some to fill the tortillas then poured the rest over top and that seemed to work. Also it called for a bunch of spinach. While I am sure "a bunch" ranges form grogery store to grocery store I found this to be WAY too much. I would say half a bunch as my tortillas were filled up and I have tons of leftover shredded spinach. Also if you put the rolled tortillas seam side down there is no need to secure with a toothpick so save the time and the trees. since it was a hit with the MR I will be making again but with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States