Spinach Enchiladas Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This tasted just like the spinach enchiladas I used to get at my favorite Mexican restaurant where we used to live... I'm in love! I like to substitute plain greek yogurt for sour cream to be a bit healthier, so I did that here as well and it was excellent. I didn't have toothpicks so I placed the tortillas seam side down and it worked fine. I packed them into the dish though so that helped them from falling apart. My husband, who's a big meat fan, loved these as well. I would like to try adding shrimp sometime, as I get a shrimp and spinach enchilada at another restaurant I like. Oh, and the recipe is super easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
A hit even with my teenage son. Used a mix of kale and spinach and cut down on calories with plain yogurt instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I love this recipe, but I have made a few adjustments. I add red onions, green peppers, and green onions to have more tasty veggies! Also, I layer everything like a casserole, it takes more cheese and veggies, but it is soooo worth the tastiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Quick, easy and authentic. I used a tomatillo green salsa. This leans a little toward the tart side, but a little salt cuts this nicely. My only other thought would be to blanch or saute the spinach (go easy on the butter/oil) so you can fit more inside the tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
First time around I found them a little runny and flavorless. So second time, I used half the sour cream and added half package of room temp cream cheese, Cajun seasoning and garlic powder. Then topped cheese with jalapenos before baking. Much better. Can't wait to try it with mushrooms as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I made a few changes to the recipe I added shredded chicken, diced onions, and mushrooms. This was perfect Great flavor. The only reason I'm giving it 4/5 stars is because the tortillas wouldn't stay together they kept breaking. tried less ingredients in the wrap but still broke would try next with flour tortillas. Great recipe! thanx for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blevande

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
These are yummy! You don't need to put the corn tortillas in hot oil in order to roll them. Just wrap in a barely damp paper towel and heat in the microwave till fairly warm. They will roll right up with no tearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I used collard greens instead of spinach just because it's a lot more sturdy. I blanched the collard greens so it is easier to wrap. I did have to use double or even close to triple the amount of salsa verde and sour cream. I like my food with lots of sauce. It makes enough to feed 8 to 9 people with average. appetite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Enjoyable. Will try again with different filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Loved this recipe. To save time, I followed the advice of reviewers who layered the ingredients to make a casserole. I also added shredded chicken and black beans to my spinach and sour cream mixture. I cooked the shredded chicken by throwing a few boneless skinless chicken breasts in the crock pot with a little salsa and taco seasoning. It was ready to shred by the time I got home from work. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNB826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States