Spinach Dip with Water Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
For some reason, I did not have high hopes for this recipe. But I was wrong! This is simple, QUICK, delicious, and CHEAP! All things that I love!! I followed the recipe exactly as-is. I used Knorr Vegetable Soup Mix. MMMM! It does not have to set very long for the flavors to marry. I was worried that the green onions would make it too oniony. They did not! In fact I wished I'd added more. They're great chopped in big pieces. I put it all in a pumpernickel round, and served it with the cut up pieces of pumpernickel, as well as some sliced french bread that I drizzled olive oil over, sprinkled with salt and pepper, and toasted in the oven very lightly. I also served it with tortilla chips. It was all delicious, and this is something I'm DEFINITELY adopting as my new never-fail. So cool! Edit 3-5-08: I started doubling the spinach, and like it even more that way! Makes it more of the typical consistency I was used to. Also, I tried it with the Knorr Leek Soup instead of their vegetable, and didn't care for it, so it may be an acquired taste. I'm going to stick w/the vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Love this recipe!! One of the few that I leave as is. It's been a Christmas tradition in my house for as long as I can remember. We also serve it in a hollowed out king's hawaiian bread. The bread's sweet flavors work well with the dip. One hint so you don't end up with soggy bread is to hollow out the bread so that it perfectly fits a paper or plastic bowl and then stick the bowl in the bread and fill with dip. This way you'll be able to save the dip and the bread when the party is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELOUA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
Very easy! BUT I would certainly reduce the mayo and sour cream. I used about half of what was called for and it was plenty creamy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Spinach dip has been a long time family favorite at our house. Not everyone here likes water chesnuts though so I leave them out. The dip tastes just as great! Also, we used regular chopped yellow onions...just as good! Another hint, you don't just want to drain the spinach, it works best if you actually "squeeze" the excess water out of it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
The recipe is wonderful! AND by the way, you can replace the chestnut with Jicama! Wonderful taste with the same crunch and feel as chestnuts with a better taste, or at least to me...and I reduced the sour cream down to 8 oz./1cup to be the same amount as the mayo...OPTIONAL --- Add 3 pounds of chopped cooked (we use grilled) chicken breast and two handfuls of chopped dried cranberries and you will have some of the best chicken salad EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tyronebcookin

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
I served this at a baby shower with Hawaiian bread and the bowl was emptied in a hurry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I have made this for years. Key is to squeeze out the spinach until it screams. The tradition in this region is to hollow out a loaf of sweet Hawian bread, put the dip in the hollow; slice the bread you removed into small rectangles and use as dippers. mmmmmmm....scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOSETRAX75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This is my favorite appetizer recipe! I prefer to make it with the Leek soup mix instead of the Vegetable mix and also add a minced garlic clove. For best results I make it the night before and refrigerate overnight to help the flavors meld. Everyone is always asking me to bring it to parties and it disappears every time. I usually buy sliced sour dough bread and cut it into bite-size pieces to eat it with and serve it in a sour dough bread bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vgirl17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I use the same recipe except I use the Knorr Leek soup mix, much better and more flavor in my opinion that the vegetable one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I also make this with the knorrs package. Hollow out a round loaf of bread and put the dip inside. serve with the bread from the loaf and crackers. Everyone at parties loves this...yuuumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States