Spinach Dip with Water Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Excellent. The only change I made was to use Greek yogurt instead of sour cream because I had run out of the latter. It went very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerSnap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I Make this all the time with 2 exceptions. instead of a veg. dip packet, I use a ranch dressing packet. Also i serve with the sweet Hawaiian bread. Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeggyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Really good! I used low fat/fat free ingredients and would never know!! I agree with whoever said it tastes better after a few hours...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tssunshine24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
YINGA! This is some dangerously good bread dip. I used 2 packages of Aldi's dry dip mix (cheaper than Knorr's [even for 2 vs. 1 pkg] but smaller packages) and served it at a housewarming party with pumpernickel cubes and French bread slices. Some tips: Your spinach can be defrosted quickly in the microwave, wring it out in a green kitchen towel lined with 2 layers of paper towels. Let your hubby twist and squeeze the heck out of it until it looks like algae;) I used 20 oz and it was tasty and a wonderful texture. Lots of "spinach-haters" really inhaled it! You can easily make this healthier by subbing olive oil style mayo and low fat sour cream - still outrageously good! You can sub reg. white onions for the green - I used one small onion - apprx. 3/4 c. chopped. Finally, I skipped the water chestnuts (dumb store nearby didn't have them) and it wasn't lacking at all - the onions added perfect crunch. MMMmmm now back to my prized leftovers:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twebby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I made it without the water chestnut and green onion and everyone still love it. I also didn't have vegetable soup mix, but had an onion soup mix on hand so I used it instead. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I love this recipe! Very good! I made a few modifications though: I used a 16 ounce bag of spinach instead of 10 ounce bag (it's plenty creamy enough!), I used light sour cream and light mayo and reduced the amount of mayo to 1/2 cup, I substituted dry onion soup/dip mix for the vegetable soup mix (didn't have any vegetable soup mix on hand), and I left out the green onions. Then I used a cheese grater to grate up about 12-15 baby carrots and added them to the dip. These changes made the recipe healthier, but still very yummy! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiLGarnsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Gay, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe is superb!!! If you can't locate this recipe, it is the same as the recipe on the bag of "Knorr" vegetable soup mix. I did make mine lower in fat, by using light sour cream and light mayonaise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Just ok for me. I would add another half box of spinach next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I have been making this forever and I love it. I never add water chestnuts but it tastes great anyway. The recipe is in the back of Knorr Vegetable Soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was fantastic. I forgot what a good combination of ingredients this is. I did follow another reviewers advice and put the dip in a small bowl in the center of the bread so it could be taken out and used again later without wasting the bread round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States