Spinach Dip with Water Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I use this recipe often, BUT I don't use dry vegetable soup mix, I use Dry Ranch Dressing. I also use light sour cream. And I don't use mayonnaise, but use Miracle Whip. I serve this with Amish Bread, it's a good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Excellent. The only change I made was to use Greek yogurt instead of sour cream because I had run out of the latter. It went very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerSnap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I Make this all the time with 2 exceptions. instead of a veg. dip packet, I use a ranch dressing packet. Also i serve with the sweet Hawaiian bread. Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeggyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Really good! I used low fat/fat free ingredients and would never know!! I agree with whoever said it tastes better after a few hours...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tssunshine24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
YINGA! This is some dangerously good bread dip. I used 2 packages of Aldi's dry dip mix (cheaper than Knorr's [even for 2 vs. 1 pkg] but smaller packages) and served it at a housewarming party with pumpernickel cubes and French bread slices. Some tips: Your spinach can be defrosted quickly in the microwave, wring it out in a green kitchen towel lined with 2 layers of paper towels. Let your hubby twist and squeeze the heck out of it until it looks like algae;) I used 20 oz and it was tasty and a wonderful texture. Lots of "spinach-haters" really inhaled it! You can easily make this healthier by subbing olive oil style mayo and low fat sour cream - still outrageously good! You can sub reg. white onions for the green - I used one small onion - apprx. 3/4 c. chopped. Finally, I skipped the water chestnuts (dumb store nearby didn't have them) and it wasn't lacking at all - the onions added perfect crunch. MMMmmm now back to my prized leftovers:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twebby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I made it without the water chestnut and green onion and everyone still love it. I also didn't have vegetable soup mix, but had an onion soup mix on hand so I used it instead. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I love this recipe! Very good! I made a few modifications though: I used a 16 ounce bag of spinach instead of 10 ounce bag (it's plenty creamy enough!), I used light sour cream and light mayo and reduced the amount of mayo to 1/2 cup, I substituted dry onion soup/dip mix for the vegetable soup mix (didn't have any vegetable soup mix on hand), and I left out the green onions. Then I used a cheese grater to grate up about 12-15 baby carrots and added them to the dip. These changes made the recipe healthier, but still very yummy! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiLGarnsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Gay, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe is superb!!! If you can't locate this recipe, it is the same as the recipe on the bag of "Knorr" vegetable soup mix. I did make mine lower in fat, by using light sour cream and light mayonaise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Just ok for me. I would add another half box of spinach next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I have been making this forever and I love it. I never add water chestnuts but it tastes great anyway. The recipe is in the back of Knorr Vegetable Soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 456) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States