Spinach Dip with Water Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I love this recipe. So quick, cheap and delicious. Tastes gourmet. I double the spinach, sour cream, seasoning and green onions and add 1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper and salt. It is thicker and tastier and great for a group. I also chop the diced water chestnuts up more finely. The trick is to drain spinach in a fine colander then I smash with my hand and then smash using paper towels. This ensures a maximum water extraction. I have used Korr Veg dry seasoning and ranch seasoning as well. Both were great and I buy what is cheaper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I made this for a potluck at work, and everyone loved it. For the veggie soup mix I used Lipton's Savory Herb with Garlic, and topped it off with some fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Awesome recipe. A big hit at parties and is my 'go to' dip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Although it might sound simple to dump stuff together to make dip, a couple of tips to anyone interested. The vegetable soup can have some rather large dehydrated flakes of veggies, so best to crunch those up first, before mixing everything together. THe large chunks are not too appetizing when they rehydrate! I also like to chop my chopped spinach after it's thawed and drained and squeezed to make sure the pieces are tiny enough that no one gets a blob of spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This dip was fine. Nothing special. Best suited for a larger group event in my opinion. The more spinach, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I love the Knorrs veggie dip!! I am so glad a friend told me about this recipe. The crunch of the veggies and chestnuts is wonderful. I used fresh spinach, about a 10 oz bag. I think the mayo is too strong so next time I will be using plain Greek yogurt and sour cream. Healthier, too, anyway. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Excellent base recipe. Does need more spinach to sour-cream/mayo ratio though. That is why I only give it 4 stars. I cut back to 10 - 12 ounces sour cream and 1/2 cup mayo and this was plenty. Could have actually cut back more or used more spinach even at this lower ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This is sooo good and addicting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I used reduced fat sour cream/mayonnaise. I made no other changes or substitutions. For me, I thought it had a little too much sour cream/mayonnaise. I'd like to make this again but I'd increase the spinach and water chestnuts. I think I'd add some garlic powder next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Wonderful recipe, first time I tried homemade spinach dip and this was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States