Spinach Dip with Water Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
So good! Everyone loved this. The texture and was great. I added 6 extra oz of spinach and left out the green onions. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
great party dip or meal starter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This stuff is sooooo good. Ive never put water chestnuts in it but when I make it for a gathering its one of the first things to go! I even made it for my sisters schools pot luck and all the kids loved it.....and we all know how kids feel about spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
A good dip, but not exceptional. I would definitely recommend reducing the mayo content....a cup is way too much and would be all you can taste. I added extra sour cream and only a hearty squeeze of mayo. Sour cream provides both tanginess and creaminess, so the mayo just provides extra fat in this case. This is wonderful chilled and is a good way to sneak some spinach and dairy in. I used the Knorr's vegetable soup because it contained more natural ingredients and less preservatives than the leek mix as some reviewers suggested. This dip is certainly fit to serve to guests and bring to parties, but please cut down on the mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Ok, I never do any recipe as it is written and I never review, because I don't believe that one should change up recipes and then not give 5 stars. I did modify. I used some cream cheese instead of mayo, but ended up adding in a little mayo. Love mayo on sandwiches, not so much in dips. My guess is that the proportion of creamy stuff to veges is pretty good if you really get that water out of the spinach. I used the 2 plate method and still wrung out more than a cup of water after that. I added roasted garlic, salt, and seasoned pepper. I used approximations from the recipe, but I can't tell you proportions, because, I am a to-taste cook (which is why I don't bake). I think I came pretty close to the recipe on the sour cream. I made a double batch for a party tomorrow and I am munching on some of it now even though the soup mix hasn't softened yet. I don't care if they like it, I'll eat what they don't. I am serving it in a pumpernickle bread bowl, with the hollowed out on the side, rye bread pieces and fresh Everything Bagel (good ones with salt) rounds. I don't care if it is a Knorr recipe. I wouldn't know about it if it hadn't been posted. I don't use Miracle Whip or lite or fat-free anything, ever. I love water chestnuts in general and especially in this. I would like to try it with the Hawaiian Bread - didn't read that until after I shopped. Thanks for posting this recipe. I can't wait to try it in the morning after it rests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was so easy to make and it is my favorite appetizer/dip. I bought sweet Hawaiian bread and it was amazing! I also added extra water chestnuts, but that is because I loved the added crunch since the bread was so soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VollmanBurton
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Yum! I could sit & eat this whole thing by myself so I'm glad I made it to take to a birthday party. The only changes I made were using low-fat mayo & fresh chives from the garden. I would usually use fat-free sour cream but after reading a review that said it looked like it was curdling, I decided to go with the full fat stuff -thick & creamy! Make sure you completely ring out the spinach so all the liquid is gone & make it the day before you need it for the best flavor. Don't skip the water chestnuts -they add a fabulous crunch & it just isn't the same without those little suckers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Yum, yum! Cut calories by using light mayo and sour cream. Still has a great taste. Serve with Hawaiian bread (slightly sweet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
So yummy! I even make this during the week sometimes when i'm dieting. If you double the spinach and use low fat sour cream and mayo it's actually fairly healthy as a vegetable dip.. and still declicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacque_stigall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I added another 5 -6 oz. of spinach as others suggested and was happy that I did. That seems to make the perfect balance of creaminess and spinach. Served in a pumpernickel bread bowl. Great dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States