Spinach Dip With Cajun Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I think this is delicious. I made as is, but think I was a little short on sour cream, so I dropped about 1/4 cup of real mayo in. Everything's better w/mayo in my opinion. I'm serving w/cubed up beer bread. I would have given 5 stars, but think the mayo made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGGAN1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I made this for a big family get together and it was the best appetizer out of all. I did add some extra cajun and cumin to make it a little spicier and it came out wonderful. I had to keep making it over and over soon enough I ran out of pita chips and the guests were begging for more. Will make again and again for many parties to come. Recommended to everyone and any party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I should have read reviews and followed the suggestion to brush the pita wedges with butter and then sprinkle with seasonings before baking. It would probably to worth it, too, to buy a very good quality pita bread. The dip was very bland, and since I've never made spinach dip before, I had no idea what kind of help it really needed.. so added a little cajun seasoning to it, too. It was ok. It will likely be better after sitting a bit longer in the the fridge, although we did let it chill for an hour before serving. Overall, not impressed and will not likely make it again...chips or dip. Sorry to be so negative about it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This recipe was great! I didn't use pita though, I used sourdough. I also added the seasonings to the dip as well as the bread and included cayenne pepper and chili powder to increase the heat. After toasting the bread for about 5 minutes, I topped it with the dip and mozzarella cheese then broiled for 2 minutes. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I made the recipe exactly as directed and it was a little bland for my taste. I'll increase the seasonings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
A great recipe! I have made this several times to rave reviews and requests for the recipe. The pita chips are addictive! I use fresh baby spinach and fat free sour cream in the dip, and it always turns out great. After making the chips the first time, instead of mixing the cumin and cajun seasoning into the butter, I brush the chips with the butter first, and then sprinkled with the cajun and cumin. Dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I thought this was very good. We liked the combination of flavors- it was different! I will make this again for company for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Oh, I love this. Great way to get a dark green veggie in your diet. I didn't make the pita chips (yet!) because I'm lazy and decided to put the cajun spice in the dip itself. I used tortilla chips instead and it is wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I only used the pita chip portion of the recipe and they turned out great. Just the right amount of crunch and spice. Enjoyed them with the Jalapeno Hummus from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
the combinations here sounded odd. the dip wasn't very good by itself and neither were the pitas. BUT Together they were EXCELLANT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States